Un peu de recherche à chaque jour éloigne le docteur pour toujours
Sub Menu

Main Content

Un peu de recherche à chaque jour éloigne le docteur pour toujours

Durham College, Ontario

La pomme, ce fruit reconnu pour sa capacité à éloigner le docteur, a besoin d’aide pour éloigner ses propres visiteurs. Les pommiers de l’Ontario sont sous l’attaque d’un nouvel ennemi ravageur — la cécidomyie du pommier. Les déformations (petites bosses sur les feuilles) produites par l’insecte peuvent interférer avec la croissance normale et le développement des terminales sur les pousses des jeunes pommiers, ce qui freine ou empêche leur développement structurel.

Ce problème affecte particulièrement la région de Durham, où la superficie consacrée à la pomiculture a doublé au cours des cinq dernières années, et les jeunes pommiers sont touchés plus durement. Cependant, les pomiculteurs de tout l’Ontario luttent contre la cécidomyie du pommier.

L’Association des pomiculteurs de l’Ontario, dans le cadre d’un projet collaboratif avec Durham College, cherche par quels moyens gérer ce ravageur. Dans un premier temps, trois vergers ont été sélectionnés afin de collecter des données selon une méthode degrés-jours (pour établir le taux de reproduction des insectes en fonction de la température). Les chercheurs se sont servis de cette information pour prédire et gérer le développement de la cécidomyie.

Ils ont en outre identifié des agents de contrôle pathogène biologiques ciblant la cécidomyie du pommier dans les vergers et ont évalué l’impact de la pulvérisation sur le taux de survie.

L’équipe du projet a pour ce faire élaboré deux techniques afin d’analyser les insectes en laboratoire : l’une pour étudier la maturation des larves jusqu’à l’état adulte à différentes températures, l’autre pour observer la transition des œufs des échantillons rapportés des vergers vers les arbres en pots conservés dans le labo, afin de déterminer de quelle manière les insectes parviennent à s’établir dans de nouveaux arbres.

Les relevés montrent qu’il y a quatre générations au fil d’un été et une génération partielle à l’automne. Les œufs se multiplient rapidement après chaque génération de pleine maturation en mai, fin juin, fin juillet et fin août. Ces données sont cruciales pour le contrôle par insecticide.

Deux étudiants du programme agroalimentaire de Durham College ont complété ce projet en six mois, collectant, compilant et analysant les données des trois vergers. S’appuyant sur divers concepts, instruments et techniques, qu’ils avaient acquis en classe pour gérer et analyser des modèles de gestion parasitaire, ils ont pu mettre en application leurs connaissances dans le cadre réel de ce projet collaboratif.

L’ensemble des 235 membres de l’Association des pomiculteurs de l’Ontario adopteront des techniques de gestion découlant de ce projet.

Funding: CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Subvention d’engagement partenarial
Partners: Ontario Apple Growers Association

About Durham College
At Durham College, the student experience comes first. With campuses in Oshawa and Whitby, Ont. along with a learning site in Pickering, the college offers more than 140 market-driven, full-time post-secondary programs in areas including culinary, hospitality, tourism, farming, horticulture, business, information technology, science, skilled trades, renewable energy, emergency services, … Lire plus

A bit of research today keeps the doctor away — from the apples
Sub Menu

Main Content

A bit of research today keeps the doctor away — from the apples

Durham College, Ontario

Apples, the fruit that famously keeps the doctor away, are getting some help to keep away unwanted visitors themselves. Ontario’s apple trees are facing damage from a new pest – the apple leaf curling midge. The galls (bumps that appear on leaves) produced by the midges can interfere with the normal growth and development of the terminal shoots of young apple trees, which delays or stunts their structural development.

It’s a particular problem in Durham Region, where the amount of land dedicated to growing apples has doubled in the last five years, because young trees are particularly affected, but apple growers across Ontario are struggling with the midges.

In this collaborative project, the Ontario Apple Growers Association approached Durham College for help finding a way to manage apple leaf curling midges. The first step was to select three apple orchards where data could be collected for a degree-day model (which establishes the rate of the midges’ growth, based on temperature). The researchers use that information for predicting and managing the midges’ development.

The researchers also identified biological control agents for the midges in the orchards and evaluated what impact spraying for midges might have on their survivability.

The project team developed two techniques to research the leaf-curling midges in the lab — one for studying the emergence of adult midges from pupa under different temperatures and the other for looking at the transfer of eggs from field samples to potted trees in the lab, to determine how midges successfully establish themselves on new trees.

The field data showed there are four adult “flights” over the summer and a partial flight in the fall. Egg counts increased very soon after each peak adult flight in May, late June, late July and late August. This is crucial information for effective use of insecticides to control the midges.

Two students from Durham College’s Food and Farming program completed the project in six months, collecting data from the three orchards and tabulating and analyzing it for predictions. Using various concepts, tools and techniques they had learned in the classroom to manage and analyze models for pest management gave the students an opportunity to apply their knowledge in a real-world, collaborative project.

All the 235 members of the Ontario Apple Growers Association will adopt management techniques from this project.

Funding: NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program, Engage Grant
Partners: Ontario Apple Growers Association

About Durham College
At Durham College, the student experience comes first. With campuses in Oshawa and Whitby, Ont. along with a learning site in Pickering, the college offers more than 140 market-driven, full-time post-secondary programs in areas including culinary, hospitality, tourism, farming, horticulture, business, information technology, science, skilled trades, renewable energy, emergency services, … Learn More