Laisser retomber la poussière : Red River College y contribue au bénéfice de l’environnement
Sub Menu

Main Content

Laisser retomber la poussière : Red River College y contribue au bénéfice de l’environnement

Red River College, Manitoba

On compte trois millions de kilomètres de voies non pavées dans le monde. Le passage des véhicules motorisés soulève de grandes quantités de poussière, contribuant grandement à la pollution et à la suspension de niveaux élevés de particules dans l’air, avec les conséquences pour la santé et l’environnement que l’on connaît. Pour contrer ces effets, l’entreprise de Winnipeg Cypher Environmental ltée a collaboré avec des enseignants et des étudiants de Red River College afin de mettre au point un suppresseur de poussière.

Il en est sorti un savant mélange non corrosif et écologique, Dust Stop Municipal Blend, capable de remplacer les sels de voirie, comme le chlorure de magnésium ou le chlorure de calcium, et aussi de mieux maîtriser la poussière. Municipal Blend incorpore des cristaux de sucre, qui concurrencent pour absorber l’eau, réduisant sa capacité de se lier aux molécules dans le sol tout en fournissant un support structurel favorisant la stabilité routière. Ce mélange permet aux municipalités et autres clients de réduire à la fois leur empreinte environnementale et la poussière en suspension.

Plusieurs étudiants ont pris part au projet et ont ainsi acquis des compétences de recherche aux côtés des professeurs et des chercheurs de Cypher Environmental.

« En ce qui a trait à l’innovation que crée Cypher, notre relation avec Red River College est vraiment précieuse », a affirmé le président Todd Burns. « Notre entente relève un peu d’une poignée de main… C’est formidable en termes des ressources que nous parvenons à utiliser, que nous n’avons pas dans nos espaces restreints. C’est une excellente façon de bâtir notre capacité et notre innovation et de faire croître notre entreprise. »

Cypher a sans tardé commercialisé Dust Stop, ouvrant une chaîne de production et embauchant pour combler des postes en recherche, en fabrication et en application du produit – l’un d’entre eux par un diplômé de Red River qui a travaillé sur le projet pendant ses études.

Funding: Les Subventions de recherche et développement appliquée (RDA), CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté
Partners: Cypher Environmental Ltd.

About Red River College
Red River College (RRC) is Manitoba's largest institute of applied learning. The institution is renowned for providing accessible, innovative, applied learning and research in an advanced environment, creating skilled graduates to drive the Manitoba economy. With more than 100 career-related programs — plus hundreds of courses — available part-time via … Lire plus

Settle down, now: Red River College helps develop an environmentally friendly dust suppressant
Sub Menu

Main Content

Settle down, now: Red River College helps develop an environmentally friendly dust suppressant

Red River College, Manitoba

There are millions of kilometers of unpaved roads around the world, and the dust kicked up by the vehicles that drive on them is a major contributor to air pollution and levels of dust particles that can cause health and environmental issues. In one effort to combat that, Winnipeg-based Cypher Environmental Ltd. collaborated with faculty and students at Red River College to develop a dust suppressant.

The result was Dust Stop Municipal Blend, a non-corrosive and environmentally friendly alternative to road salts, such as magnesium chloride and calcium chloride. It also offers superior dust control. Municipal Blend incorporates sugars, which compete for water, making it less available to bind with soil molecules while providing some structural support and added road stability. Using the blend allows municipalities and other clients to reduce their overall environmental footprint while controlling dust.

Several students were engaged in the project, acquiring research skills while working alongside faculty and Cypher Environmental researchers.

“In terms of the innovation that we are doing, Cypher has a really great link with Red River College,” said the company’s president, Todd Burns. “We sort of have a deal on a handshake… It’s been phenomenal in terms of our ability to utilize resources that we don’t have in our small facility… It’s a great way to build on our capacity to do research and innovation and grow the business.”

Cypher commercialized Dust Stop immediately, opening a new production line and creating jobs in research, manufacturing and product application — including one filled by a Red River graduate who had worked on the project while at the college.

Funding: Applied Research and Development (ARD) Grant, NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program
Partners: Cypher Environmental Ltd.

About Red River College
Red River College (RRC) is Manitoba's largest institute of applied learning. The institution is renowned for providing accessible, innovative, applied learning and research in an advanced environment, creating skilled graduates to drive the Manitoba economy. With more than 100 career-related programs — plus hundreds of courses — available part-time via … Learn More