Conversation animée, sans mots ni paroles
Sub Menu

Main Content

Conversation animée, sans mots ni paroles

George Brown College, Ontario

Le marché mondial pose aux entreprises canadiennes de nombreux défis. Comment, par exemple, réduire la science moléculaire à une explication simplifiée que peut appréhender le profane – sans employer de mots ? L’équipe de ventes et marketing de CSL Silicones inc., fabricant d’enduits, de lubrifiants, de composés et d’adhésifs siliconés basé à Guelph, se servait auparavant de présentations à images bidimensionnelles pour démontrer le fonctionnement de ses enduits – une pratique courante.

Mais la société devait trouver un moyen de s’adresser à un public international – peu importe la langue ou l’expertise technique. Voulant expliquer des faits aux apprenants visuels, sans employer la langue, elle a porté ce défi devant l’équipe de recherche du centre d’arts et de design de George Brown College.
Une équipe d’étudiants du programme de conception de jeux a été assemblée afin d’élaborer une animation capable de vulgariser la science complexe derrière les produits de CSL pour que quiconque – profane ou expert – puisse la saisir.

La première animation s’est centrée sur l’enduit phare, Si-COAT® 570™ High Voltage Insulator Coating, un isolant thermique protégeant les isolateurs des dommages causés par les intempéries, l’humidité et les polluants. Les étudiants ont travaillé en deux groupes. L’un a conçu les graphiques, l’autre a créé l’animation, analysant la science exacte derrière le produit et la reformulant graphiquement de manière simplifiée.

Trois étudiants en conception de jeux – Xuan Zhang, Megan Mattes et Thuc Phuong Lu – ainsi qu’un étudiant à la maîtrise de George Brown, l’artiste 3D Emanuel Melo, ont travaillé sur l’animation. Ils étaient supervisés par le chercheur principal Billy Matjiunis (enseignant en conception de jeux) et Alexis Rodziewicz, gestionnaire du projet.

L’équipe de CSL Silicones envisage réaliser d’autres animations pour ses multiples produits et projets de marché. Il croit que cette démarche innovatrice pourrait changer la manière de promouvoir et vendre leurs produits.

« En à peu près deux minutes et demie, un récit fluide décrit la proposition de valeur et permet de visualiser la science, son application et ses avantages. Il faut à notre équipe trois heures et demie pour accomplir la même chose auprès de plusieurs personnes rassemblées dans une salle », assure Rae Townsend, vice-président des initiatives commerciales stratégiques de CSL. « Cette animation nous a permis, du jour au lendemain, de passer d’un public mondial parlant l’anglais de 350 millions de personnes à un public de 6 milliards de personnes. »

Funding: CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté
Partners: CSL Silicones

About George Brown College
George Brown strives to build a seamless bridge between learners and employment by developing dynamic programs that are informed by industry and workplace-ready graduates who will be the candidates of choice for employers. The college offers a wide range of degree, diploma, certificate and apprenticeship programs at three campuses in downtown … Lire plus

An animated conversation — with no words
Sub Menu

Main Content

An animated conversation — with no words

George Brown College, Ontario

The global marketplace presents many challenges to Canadian companies. How, for example, do you boil complex molecular science down for the layman — without using any words? The sales and marketing team at CSL Silicones Inc., a Guelph-based manufacturer of silicone coatings, lubricants, compounds and adhesives, used presentations with two-dimensional images to demonstrate how the coating functions — a fairly standard approach.

But the company needed to find a way to communicate with a global audience —regardless of language or technical expertise. It wanted explanations that transcended language, designed for visual learners. They brought that challenge to a research team at George Brown College’s Centre for Arts and Design.

A team of students from the game development program was set to work developing an animation that would capture the complex science behind CSL’s products in a visual presentation easy for anyone—layman or expert—to understand.

The first animation focused on the flagship coating, Si-COAT® 570™ High Voltage Insulator Coating, which protects insulators from damage caused by weather, moisture and pollutants. The students worked in two groups, one focused on designing graphics and the other on developing animation, parsing out the exact science behind the product and how to explain that in a simplified, visual way.

Three game development students— Xuan Zhang, Megan Mattes and Thuc Phuong Lu—and one George Brown graduate, 3D artist Emanuel Melo, worked on the animation. They were supervised by the principal investigator, Billy Matjiunis (a game development professor) and Alexis Rodziewicz, the project manager.

The team at CSL Silicones is looking forward to doing further animations across multiple products and market projects, and anticipates this innovative approach could change the way they promote and sell all their products.

“In approximately 2½ minutes, you get a seamless story of the product value proposition, a visualization of the science, its application and supporting benefits. It takes our team about 3½ hours to do the same thing to a roomful of people,” said Rae Townsend, vice-president of strategic business initiatives at CSL. “What this animation allows us to do is grow from serving a global English-speaking audience of 350 million people, to an audience of over 6 billion people overnight.”

Funding: NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program
Partners: CSL Silicones

About George Brown College
George Brown strives to build a seamless bridge between learners and employment by developing dynamic programs that are informed by industry and workplace-ready graduates who will be the candidates of choice for employers. The college offers a wide range of degree, diploma, certificate and apprenticeship programs at three campuses in downtown … Learn More