Une solution communautaire pour améliorer l’accès à l’éducation
Sub Menu

Main Content

Une solution communautaire pour améliorer l’accès à l’éducation

Mohawk College, Ontario

Décider de poursuivre son éducation au postsecondaire peut s’avérer un pas difficile à franchir pour un étudiant provenant d’un milieu socioéconomique défavorisé. Mohawk College à Hamilton, en Ontario, a fondé une école spéciale pour faciliter cette démarche: City School. Cette initiative communautaire vise à réduire les obstacles à l’éducation et à l’emploi pour les résidents de certains quartiers défavorisés.

Elle a pour but de surmonter l’écart de niveau d’instruction qui touche les personnes de certaines communautés aux prises avec la pauvreté et d’autres causes de marginalisation. Pour ce faire, elle a amené des programmes et services directement aux résidents dans des centres d’apprentissage facilement accessibles situés au centre-ville. Dans ces lieux, des cours et ateliers crédités de niveau collégial sont offerts sans frais d’admission et enseignés par les enseignants et le personnel, afin d’encourager les étudiants potentiels à progresser graduellement vers un cheminement postsecondaire.

Les deux centres d’apprentissage de City School offrent des cours collégiaux dans un environnement répliquant la salle de classe, ce qui procure aux étudiants une impression de ce qu’implique fréquenter un collège et la possibilité d’explorer différents sujets d’intérêt. Ceux d’entre eux qui réussissent le cours gratuit obtiennent un crédit, applicable lors de leur inscription à Mohawk College.
« City School est une première à Hamilton en Ontario, affirme Jim Vanderveken, doyen des études interdisciplinaires de Mohawk College. Aucun autre collège de la province ne s’engage auprès de la communauté à ce niveau. » Il décrit City School de Mohawk College comme un camp de base sur le trajet de l’éducation postsecondaire. Mettre l’éducation collégiale à la portée de tous est une priorité pour le doyen comme pour le collège.

La recherche sur l’efficacité du projet City School est menée par Alan Bourke, qui étudie les perceptions des étudiants à l’égard de City School et s’intéresse à leur éventuelle réussite. Les résultats de son travail à ce jour indiquent que le projet est prometteur : les participants sont grandement satisfaits de leur expérience d’apprentissage. Les étudiants rapportent avoir plus confiance en leurs habiletés intellectuelles et développent une relation avec le collège grâce à un système d’appui solide qui plaide pour leurs intérêts et leurs aspirations.

Parmi plusieurs aspects positifs, les étudiants apprécient la passion qui anime les enseignants de City School, la souplesse des horaires de cours et le service de garderie offert.

City School a suscité un intérêt considérable dans d’autres communautés mobilisées pour réduire la pauvreté et la marginalisation sociale. Mohawk College prévoit aussi inaugurer une version mobile de City School.

Funding: Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Partners: Hamilton Public Library, Eva Rothwell Resource Centre, City of Hamilton, Hamilton Community Foundation, Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board, Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board

About Mohawk College
Mohawk College educates and serves 30,000 full-time, part-time and apprenticeship students at three campuses in Hamilton, Ontario. More than 1,200 international students from over 70 countries also attend Mohawk. Recognized as a leader in health and technology education, Mohawk is also one of the largest trainers of apprentices in Ontario. … Lire plus

A community-built response to improving access to education
Sub Menu

Main Content

A community-built response to improving access to education

Mohawk College, Ontario

Deciding on post-secondary education is a big step that can be particularly difficult for students who’ve grown up in areas with lower socio-economic status. To counter that, Mohawk College in Hamilton, Ontario has developed “City School by Mohawk,” a community-based initiative that aims to break down barriers to education and employment for residents of some of the city’s struggling neighbourhoods.

The goal of City School by Mohawk is to overcome the post-secondary attainment gap that may affect residents of communities struggling with poverty and other causes of marginalization. To do that, it has brought college programming and services directly to residents in easily accessible downtown “learning hubs.” There, City School offers tuition-free college credit courses and workshops, taught by Mohawk faculty and staff, to encourage potential students to take gradual steps on a postsecondary pathway.

The two City School hubs offer college courses in a classroom environment, giving students a sense of what’s involved in attending college, as well as the chance to explore different topics they think they might like to study. And those who successfully complete the free course can earn a credit to be applied when they enroll at Mohawk.

“City school is a first for Hamilton and Ontario,” says Jim Vanderveken, dean of Interdisciplinary Studies at Mohawk College. “No other college in the province is taking community engagement to this level.” He describes City School by Mohawk as a basecamp on the journey to post-secondary education. Putting a college education within reach of everyone in the community is a priority for Dean Vanderveken and the college.

Research on the effectiveness of the City School project is being led by Dr. Alan Bourke, who is studying the perceptions students have of City School, and whether they succeed. Results of his work so far indicate significant promise: participants have high levels of satisfaction with their learning experience. Students report developing confidence in their academic abilities and building a connection with the college through a strong support system that advocates for their interests and aspirations.

Among a number of other positive findings, students appreciated the passion of their City School faculty, the flexibility of the course delivery schedules, and valued the child-care offered.

City School has generated significant interest in other communities tackling poverty and social marginalization. Mohawk also has plans to launch of a mobile City School.

Funding: Community and College Social Innovation Fund, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Partners: Hamilton Public Library, Eva Rothwell Resource Centre, City of Hamilton, Hamilton Community Foundation, Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board, Hamilton-Wentworth Catholic District School Board

About Mohawk College
Mohawk College educates and serves 30,000 full-time, part-time and apprenticeship students at three campuses in Hamilton, Ontario. More than 1,200 international students from over 70 countries also attend Mohawk. Recognized as a leader in health and technology education, Mohawk is also one of the largest trainers of apprentices in Ontario. … Learn More