About CICan
Sub Menu

Main Content

CICan Advisory Committees

As a membership organization, CICan believes strongly in involving member institutions in decision-making and ensures they are consulted and have opportunities to provide feedback when needed. The organization benefits greatly from their expertise and seeks their input on a variety of topics.

In addition to our Board, CICan hosts several advisory committees on which members are invited to sit. This allows us to engage with individuals working at different levels within their institution who can provide valuable insights.

Here are CICan’s current advisory committees:

President’s Advisory Committee on Sustainability

The President’s Advisory Committee on Sustainability (PACoS) provides strategic input and guidance on opportunities and challenges related to strengthening and accelerating our members contributions towards achieving sustainability and a net-zero economy. This work is aligned with the CICan strategic plan and leverages the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals as a framework.

Committee Members

Copyright Advisory Committee

The Copyright Advisory Committee provides strategic advice to help guide CICan’s advocacy activities and its actions to support the needs, practices, policies and procedures of colleges and institutes as they relate to copyright.

Committee Members

International Advisory Committee

The International Advisory Committee supports CICan in achieving its vision, mission and its goal to provide opportunities for members to work with domestic and international partners to foster and advance professional and technical education in Canada and abroad.

Committee Members

Indigenous Education Advisory Committee

The Indigenous Education Advisory Committee brings together college and institute leaders and professional practitioners responsible for Indigenous education. The purpose of the Committee is to provide input to CICan on advocacy priorities and positions related to Indigenous education and skills development. The committee also serves as a forum to enable college and institute leaders and Indigenous education practitioners to support each other and build capacity to serve Indigenous learners and communities across the country.

Committee Members

Government Relations and Communications Advisory Committee

The Government Relations and Communications Advisory Committee helps CICan respond to its members’ needs in government relations, advocacy, communications, and navigating the federal political and policy marketplace. In all, the Committee endeavours to support a “one voice” approach to key messages to stakeholders including the Government of Canada.

Committee Members

ImpAct Student and Alumni Advisory Committee

The ImpAct Student and Alumni Advisory Committee provides strategic input and guidance from a student and youth perspective. It contributes directly to the ImpAct initiative’s goal of strengthening and accelerating the contributions of member post-secondary institutions towards achieving the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), including environmental sustainability, as well as social and economic inclusion for all.

Committee Members

National Research Advisory Committee

The National Research Advisory Committee provides strategic advice on CICan advocacy priorities and federal government policies and programs which support applied research, and assists in the development of college and institute capacity in applied research.

Committee Members

Information Technology and Security (IT&S) Advisory Committee

Committee Members

    • Michael Barr (Co-Chair), Chief Information Officer Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT), Alberta Michael.Barr@sait.ca
    • Simon Collier, Director, Information Technology New Brunswick Community College (NBCC), New Brunswick Simon.Collier@nbcc.ca
    • Rick Daoust, Chief Information Officer Cambrian College Ontario College Council of Chief Information Officers (OCCIO) representative, Ontario rick.daoust@cambriancollege.ca
    • Adam Gerhard, Chief Information Officer Red River College, Manitoba agerhard@RRC.CA
    • Roy Hart, Chief Information Officer British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), British Columbia roy_hart@bcit.ca
    • Grégory Hersant, Coordonnateur au soutien à la recherche Synchronex, Quebec ghersant@synchronex.ca
    • Ali Hirji, Lead, Emerging Technologies Centre for Cyber Innovation Durham College, Ontario Ali.Hirji@durhamcollege.ca
    • Jared Hougen, Interim IT Manager Yukon University, Yukon jhougen@yukonu.ca
    • Jim Kirk, Director, Digital Innovation & Technology Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC), Nova Scotia Jim.Kirk@nscc.ca
    • Kathy Knight, Executive Director, Cybersecurity Technology Centre of Excellence Manitoba Institute of Trades and Technology, Manitoba kathy.knight@mitt.ca
    • John Levay (Co-Chair), Chief Technology Officer Niagara College, Ontario jlevay@niagaracollege.ca
    • Richard MacDonald, Manager of Integrated Technology Services Holland College, Prince Edward Island rmacdonald@hollandcollege.com
    • Leon Noseworthy, IT Manager College of the North Atlantic (CNA), Newfoundland and Labrador leon.noseworthy@cna.nl.ca
    • Terry Peckham, Research Chair, Digital Integration Centre of Excellence (DICE) Saskatchewan Polytechnic, Saskatchewan peckhamt@saskpolytech.ca
    • Ted Pennell, Chief Information Officer Camosun College, British Columbia pennellt@camosun.ca
    • Omair Quraishi, Associate Vice-President, Information Technology Services Saskatchewan Polytechnic, Saskatchewan quraishio@saskpolytech.ca
    • Tony Roy, Directeur, Technologies de l’information et des communications Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick (CCNB), New Brunswick Tony.Roy@ccnb.ca
    • Katie Tuck, Chief Information Officer University of the Fraser Valley, British Columbia Katie.Tuck@ufv.ca
    • Steve Wilson, Director, Centre for Digital Transformation British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT), British Columbia swilson40@bcit.ca
    • Benoit Desautels, Directeur adjoint – sécurité informationnelle et cyberdéfense, La Fédération des cégeps, Quebec Benoit.Desautels@fedecegeps.qc.ca