Sub Menu

Main Content

Delegation of Canadian colleges in China for World Congress and promotion of student opportunities

Ottawa, October 21 – Canadian colleges, institutes and polytechnics will be well represented at the upcoming World Federation of Colleges and Polytechnics (WFCP) World Congress, in Beijing, China. Twenty-six Canadian institutions will join Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan) President and WFCP Chair, Denise Amyot, at this important international education forum.

The WFCP World Congress is the leading international event for the vocational education, technical and skills training community. Delegates from 62 countries, including Canada, will attend to share best practices and discuss common challenges.

WFCP World Congress
When: October 24-26
Where: Beijing, China
Who: 26 Canadian colleges and institutes (see list below)

Four Canadian students from Humber College and Niagara College will also travel to China to participate in the WFCP International Youth Camp. This event provides opportunities for young leaders to acquire new experiences and to exchange ideas with other students from around the world.

The CICan-led delegation of Canadian institutions will then embark on a week-long tour to promote Canada’s college advantage in technical education for potential Chinese international students and industry partners. The Canadian colleges delegation will participate in a series of partnership meetings and public information sessions in:

Beijing (Oct. 26-27);
Changsha, Hunan Province (Oct. 27-28);
Guangzhou, Guangdong Province (Oct. 29-30); and
Shenyang, Liaoning Province (Oct. 31- Nov. 1)

Canadian colleges, institutes and polytechnics are seen as leaders on the world stage with many countries looking to CICan members as models for student and economic success. This trip builds on Canada’s reputation while also allowing CICan members to strengthen ties with the evolving Chinese post-secondary education sector.

China has recently decided to expand its college system and to transform 600 universities into institutions of applied learning and technology. This will prepare its workforce to run an economy of higher value-added production and services while reducing the growing number of unemployed university graduates. Canadian colleges and institutes will be able to help with this major transition.

Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan) is the national and international voice of Canada’s publicly supported colleges, institutes, cégeps and polytechnics. The Association works with industry and social sectors to train 1.5 million learners of all ages and backgrounds at campuses serving over 3,000 urban, rural and remote communities in Canada. CICan operates in 29 countries via 13 offices around the world and is the secretariat for the World Federation of Colleges and Polytechnics (WFCP). CICan President and CEO, Denise Amyot, is the Chair of the WFCP.

-30-

For more information:
Julien Abord-Babin
Senior Strategic Communications Officer
Colleges and Institutes Canada
613-746-2222 ext. 3131
Twitter: @CollegeCan

 

Canadian Colleges at the WFCP World Conference in China

Algonquin College http://www.algonquincollege.com/
British Columbia Institute of Technology http://www.bcit.ca/
Bow Valley College http://www.bowvalleycollege.ca/
Cambrian College http://www.cambriancollege.ca
Canadore College http://www.canadorec.on.ca/
Centennial College http://www.centennialcollege.ca/
Collège Lasalle, LCI Education http://www.lasallecollege.com/
College of New Caledonia http://www.cnc.bc.ca/
College of North Atlantic http://www.cna.nl.ca/
College of the Rockies http://www.cotr.bc.ca/
Fanshawe College http://www.fanshawec.ca/
Fleming College http://flemingcollege.ca/
Holland College http://www.hollandcollege.com/
Humber College http://www.humber.ca/
Kwantlen Polytechnic University http://www.kpu.ca/
Langara College http://www.langara.bc.ca/
Loyalist College www.loyalistcollege.com
Mohawk College http://www.mohawkcollege.ca/
North Island College http://www.nic.bc.ca/
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology http://www.nait.ca/
Sault College http://www.saultcollege.ca/
Seneca College http://www.senecac.on.ca/
Saskatchewan Polytechnic http://gosiast.com/
Sheridan College https://www.sheridancollege.ca/
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology http://www.sait.ca/
Vancouver Community College http://www.vcc.ca/