Selection Process

Step 1: Nomination guidelines are posted to the CICan website by Friday, September 8, 2023.

Step 2: Requests for applications to sit on a Selection Committee* are sent out by Monday, September 18, 2023. Applications are received by Monday, October 30, 2023.

Step 3: The members are selected based on regional and constituent representation by Friday, November 3, 2023.

Step 4: Call with Selection Committee members the week of November 13, 2023.

Step 5: The deadline for institutions to submit their nomination electronically to CICan is 23:59 Friday, November 10, 2023.

Step 6: Nomination packages are sent electronically to each member of the ten Selection Committees no later than Wednesday, November 22, 2023.

Step 7: Nominations are reviewed and evaluated by each Selection Committee by Wednesday, December 13, 2023. 

Step 8: Results are compiled by CICan and sent to each Selection Committee by Friday, January 12, 2024.

Step 9: A conference call with each Selection Committee to confirm the recipients takes place the week of January 15, 2024.

Step 10: CICan informs the President of the winning institution and non-winning institutions by email by Monday, January 22, 2024.

Step 11: Award recipients are honoured at the 2024 CICan Connection Conference, April 29th – May 1st, 2024, and recognized on CICan’s website.

Step 12: After the Conference, a plaque is sent to the college or institute president’ office, for the college or institute to display.

Please Note: Each nomination is reviewed by an independent selection committee with representation from across CICan member institutions. Reviewers participate on a voluntary basis and a reviewer cannot sit on more than one selection committee. Every nomination is reviewed independently from one another and a nomination will not be reviewed by someone from the same institution as the nominee.

CICan and TD Insurance

TD Logo
TD Insurance is proud to be the exclusive sponsor of the CICan Awards of Excellence Program. TD Insurance will give an award of $1,000 to each Gold level Award of Excellence recipient.
Learn More