Main Content

avril 14, 2020

Des mises à jour importantes au sujet de la COVID-19

Comme nous continuons tous à travailler ensemble pour nous soutenir mutuellement et appuyer les personnes les plus vulnérables dans nos collectivités, nous voulons partager quelques nouvelles informations émises par le gouvernement fédéral quant à nos activités de plaidoyer. Pour les étudiants et les employeurs : au cours de notre webinaire de suivi de la situation relative à la COVID-19, Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) nous a fait part de modifications apportées à son Programme de stages pratiques pour étudiants, de sorte à apporter une aide aux étudiants et aux employeurs durant la pandémie de COVID-19 : Les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire sont à présent... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : International, covid-19, étudiants, mises à jour
avril 9, 2020

Des changements apportés au programme Emplois d’été Canada pour aider les entreprises et les jeunes Canadiens

Le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures pour soutenir les travailleurs, les entreprises et tous les Canadiens touchés par la pandémie de la COVID-19, y compris les jeunes qui ont de difficulté à trouver du travail. Les mesures annoncées incluent des changements temporaires au programme Emplois d’été Canada qui aideront les employeurs à embaucher du personnel pour l’été et permettront aux jeunes Canadiens d’obtenir les emplois dont ils ont besoin durant cette situation sans précédent. Ce programme aidera à créer jusqu'à 70 000 emplois pour les jeunes de 15 à 30 ans. Parmi les changements temporaires apportés au programme cette année figurent :... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : covid-19, étudiants
avril 8, 2020

Offre de programmes en ligne et éligibilité au PPTPD – Nouvelles mesures pour les étudiants internationaux débutant en mai ou juin

Nous sommes ravis de partager qu’Immigration, Réfugiés et Citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) a étendu les mesures d’exception accordées en matière d’admissibilité au Programme de permis de travail postdiplôme quant à l’enseignement en ligne, tel que nous le revendiquions. Cela permettra aux étudiants internationaux qui possèdent déjà un permis d’étude valide pour un programme débutant en mai ou juin de commencer et de compléter jusqu’à 50 pour cent de leur programme en ligne, de chez eux, en attendant de venir au Canada. Nous nous retrouvons face à des circonstances exceptionnelles et nous apprécions cette flexibilité. Des décisions importantes quant aux cohortes débutant... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : covid-19, étudiants
avril 7, 2020

Annonce destinée aux étudiants et aux employeurs

La semaine dernière, au cours de notre webinaire de suivi de la situation relative à la COVID-19, Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) nous a fait part de modifications apportées à son Programme de stages pratiques pour étudiants, de sorte à apporter une aide aux étudiants et aux employeurs durant la pandémie de COVID-19. Les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire sont à présent admissibles à l’octroi de subventions salariales pour le recrutement d’étudiants dans le cadre de ce programme. Pour plus d’information à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec l’un des neuf groupes d’employeurs partenaires sélectionnés pour la prestation de ce programme. Les... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : covid-19
avril 4, 2020

Un message de la part de l’honorable Navdeep Bains concernant l’approvisionnement des fournitures essentielles

Vous trouverez ci-joint une lettre que l’honorable Navdeep Bains, Ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et de l'Industrie nous a demandé de vous transmettre demandant l’aide des collèges et instituts. Chères et chers collègues, Le 20 mars dernier, je vous ai écrit pour vous demander votre soutien et votre coopération afin d'aider le Canada à combattre la COVID-19, en demandant aux établissements postsecondaires d'identifier les stocks d'équipement de protection individuelle qui pourraient être mis à la disposition du système de soins intensifs. J'ai également fait appel à vous pour identifier des méthodes de fabrication innovantes pour répondre aux éventuelles pénuries d'équipements... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : covid-19
mars 31, 2020

Nouvelles mises à jour relatives à la COVID-19 

À mesure que la réponse du gouvernement fédéral face à la COVID-19 continue d’évoluer au quotidien, nous demeurons déterminés à surveiller de près et à partager les informations relatives à la COVID-19 afin de mieux servir nos établissements membres et de faire entendre votre voix à Ottawa. Consultez régulièrement notre nouvelle page Web qui regroupe toutes nos dernières mises à jour. Nous œuvrons à mettre à jour aussi rapidement que possible les informations disponibles sur nos activités de plaidoyer au niveau fédéral et à vous faire part des ressources disponibles en matière d’enseignement et d’apprentissage. Assurez-vous de vous y rendre souvent. Nous vous invitons... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : Recherche appliquée, International, covid-19
mars 25, 2020

Mises à jour sur la COVID-19 pour les étudiants internationaux et les divisions des affaires internationales

Alors que le monde entier réagit à la pandémie de la COVID-19, nous continuons nos activités de plaidoyer en votre nom auprès d’Immigration, réfugies et citoyenneté Canada (IRCC) afin d’assurer que vos préoccupations et celles de vos étudiants soient entendues et traitées en temps opportun et de manière flexible. Voici ce que nous avons pu vérifier : En ce qui concerne les voyages et la fermeture des frontières : Le soir du vendredi 20 mars, IRCC a publié un communiqué confirmant que « des exemptions aux restrictions de voyage aérien s’appliqueront aux étrangers qui se sont déjà engagés à travailler, à étudier ou à s’établir au Canada, et les déplacements de ces personnes seront considérés comme... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : International, covid-19
mars 25, 2020

Mise à jour sur la recherche appliquée – Spécial COVID-19

Vous trouverez ci-dessous une mise à jour des activités de CICan liées à la COVID-19 et à la recherche appliquée, notamment sur les points suivants : Des nouvelles de nos priorités : Organismes subventionnaires Diffusion d’information : Demande du gouvernement du Canada et Défi Respirateur Code Vie Mise à jour de CICan sur la COVID-19 Information sur l’abonnement : Invitez vos collègues à se joindre au Réseau de la recherche appliquée de CICan et à recevoir les prochaines mises à jour Si vous avez des questions ou pour tout renseignement supplémentaire, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Tresanna Hassanally, conseillère principale... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : Recherche appliquée, covid-19
mars 23, 2020

Ressources gratuites pour les membres du corps professoral touchés par la COVID-19

Comme un grand nombre de colleges et d'instituts de partout au pays passent des méthodes d'enseignement traditionnelles à l'apprentissage en ligne en raison de la COVID-19, nous souhaitons partager quelques ressources gratuites avec nos membres. LinkedIn Learning LinkedIn partnered with the 17-institution University of North Carolina System to identify LinkedIn Learning courses that will most aid faculty with this transition. These courses cover everything from leading practices for teaching online to EdTech tools like Canvas to collaboration software like Microsoft Teams. Courses: Learning to Teach Online Teaching with Technology Teaching Technical Skills Through Video Teaching Online: Synchronous Classes Office 365... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : Éducation, ressources, covid-19, learning
mars 21, 2020

Un message de la part de l’honorable Navdeep Bains concernant l’approvisionnement des fournitures essentielles

Vous trouverez ci-joint une lettre que l’honorable Navdeep Bains, Ministre de l'Innovation, des Sciences et de l'Industrie nous a demandé de vous transmettre demandant l’aide des collèges et instituts. Chers collègues, La pandémie de COVID-19 confronte le Canada à des défis sans précédent. En réponse, nous devons tous travailler ensemble afin de protéger le bien-être des Canadiens, ainsi que notre économie. Permettez-moi de commencer par vous remercier pour le leadership dont vous avez fait preuve et pour les efforts déployés en matière de recherche par vos institutions, qui vont nous aider à comprendre, combattre et atténuer les impacts de la... Lire la suite
Lire la suite
Étiquettes : covid-19

Main Content

April 14, 2020

Important updates related to COVID-19

As we all continue to work together to support each other and those most vulnerable in our communities, we are pleased to share clarification from the federal government on a few recent advocacy wins that benefit students: For students and employers: during our weekly COVID-19 webinar, Employment and Skills Development Canada (ESDC) shared changes made to the Student Work Placement Program (SWPP) to assist students and employers during the COVID-19 outbreak, including: Post-secondary institutions are now eligible to hire students under SWPP and receive a wage subsidy, start dates and duration of placements will be more flexible, and students will be permitted... Read more
Read more
Tags: International, covid-19, International, covid-19, update, students
April 9, 2020

Changes to Canada Summer Jobs program to help businesses and young Canadians

The Government of Canada is taking action to support workers, businesses, and all Canadians impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic, including young people facing challenges finding work. The measures announced include temporary changes to the Canada Summer Jobs program that will help employers hire summer staff and provide young Canadians access to the jobs they need during this unprecedented time. The program will help create up to 70,000 jobs for youth between 15 and 30 years of age. Temporary changes to the program for this year include: an increase to the wage subsidy so that private and public sector employers can... Read more
Read more
Tags: covid-19, students
April 8, 2020

Online Delivery and PGWP eligibility – New measures announced for international students starting in May or June

We are pleased to share that Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has extended online delivery exemptions with respect to Post-Graduate Work Permit eligibility for international students as we have been calling for. Those who have a study permit or who have been approved for a study permit for a program starting in May or June can begin and complete up to 50% of their program online from abroad in anticipation of a transition to Canada. These are exceptional circumstances and we appreciate this flexibility. Important decisions regarding the Spring/Summer intake can now be made with some clarity. We know,... Read more
Read more
Tags: covid-19, students
April 7, 2020

Updates for students and employers

During our weekly COVID-19 update webinar, Employment and Skills Development Canada (ESDC) shared changes made to the Student Work Placement Program (SWPP) to assist students and employers during the COVID-19 outbreak: Post-secondary institutions are now eligible to hire students under SWPP and receive the wage subsidy. Contact any of the nine organizations selected as SWPP Employer Delivery Partners for more information. Start dates and the duration of placements are now more flexible. Students are permitted to work remotely and work from home. Wage subsidies can be paid up front to SME and not-for-profit employers. Employers can have their eligibility for the program confirmed before selecting a student... Read more
Read more
Tags: covid-19, students, employers
April 4, 2020

A message from the Hon. Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry regarding the denaturing agent, guanidine thiocyanate

Please see a message the Hon. Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, has asked us to share with our members regarding the denaturing agent, guanidine thiocyanate. Dear Colleagues, On March 20, I wrote to you asking for your support and cooperation in helping Canada to combat COVID-19, requesting post-secondary institutions to identify stocks of personal protective equipment that could be made available to the critical care system. I also asked for your assistance in identifying innovative manufacturing solutions to address potential shortages of essential medical equipment. Thank you to those of you who responded to this request or... Read more
Read more
Tags: covid-19
March 31, 2020

The latest on COVID-19

As the federal government’s response to COVID-19 continues to evolve daily, we remain committed to monitoring and sharing updates in order to better serve our members and be your voice in Ottawa. Visit our new webpage gathering all of our most recent updates.  Be sure to check in often as we are constantly updating the content as information becomes available, including our advocacy with the federal government and freely available teaching and learning resources. We also invite you to join our weekly webinar series for updates on our efforts in Ottawa and to share amongst yourselves how the situation is evolving in your various regions and what approaches you are taking to tackle the challenges. Join us... Read more
Read more
Tags: Applied Research, International, covid-19, update
March 25, 2020

COVID-19 updates for international students and departments

As the world reacts to COVID-19, we continue to advocate on your behalf with Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to ensure that your concerns, and those of your students, are being heard and addressed in a timely manner and with as much flexibility as is possible. Here’s what we’ve been able to ascertain to date: Regarding travel and border closures: On Friday evening, March 20, IRCC issued a press release confirming that “exemptions to the air travel restrictions will apply to foreign nationals who have already committed to working, studying or making Canada their home, and travel by these individuals will be considered essential travel for land border restrictions” and that these... Read more
Read more
March 25, 2020

Applied Research Special COVID-19 Update

Please find below an update on CICan’s activities related to COVID-19 and applied research including: Advocacy Updates: Granting Agencies Information Sharing: Request from the Government of Canada and the Code Life Ventilator Challenge. CICan Update on COVID-19 Subscription Information: Invite your colleagues to subscribe to the CICan Applied Research Network and receive future update newsletters. If you have any questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me or Tresanna Hassanally, Senior Policy Advisor at thassanally@collegesinstitutes.ca.
Read more
Tags: Applied Research, covid-19
March 23, 2020

Free resources to help faculty affected by COVID-19

With most colleges and institutes across Canada transitioning from traditional, in-person education to an online experience due to COVID-19, we wanted to share some free resources for our members. LinkedIn Learning LinkedIn partnered with the 17-institution University of North Carolina System to identify LinkedIn Learning courses that will most aid faculty with this transition. These courses cover everything from leading practices for teaching online to EdTech tools like Canvas to collaboration software like Microsoft Teams. Courses: Learning to Teach Online Teaching with Technology Teaching Technical Skills Through Video Teaching Online: Synchronous Classes Office 365 for Educators Microsoft Teams for Education... Read more
Read more
Tags: Education, covid-19, resources, learning
March 21, 2020

A message from the Hon. Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry regarding critical supplies

Please see a message the Hon. Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, has asked us to share with our members. Dear colleagues, The current COVID-19 pandemic presents Canada with unprecedented challenges. In response, we must all work together to protect the well-being of Canadians and our economy. Let me begin by thanking you for your leadership and for your institutions’ research efforts to help us understand, combat and mitigate the impacts of COVID-19. It is critical that our health system, care providers, and first responders have safe, effective medical devices, supplies and equipment necessary both to protect against... Read more
Read more
Tags: covid-19