C’est cool la chaleur!
Sub Menu

Main Content

C’est cool la chaleur!

Centennial College, Ontario

Cool la chaleur, cool. Sonorité jazz? C’est plutôt la description d’un système refroidissant par absorption thermique – méthode de climatisation alimentée par énergie solaire plutôt que par électricité.
Chauffer des immeubles grâce à l’énergie solaire n’a rien de neuf, mais les climatiser par ce même moyen semble contre-intuitif. Il s’agit en fait simplement d’employer l’énergie thermique du soleil d’une autre manière : les refroidisseurs du climatiseur sont alimentés par de l’eau, qui elle est chauffée par le soleil. Le refroidissement par absorption solaire est avantageux, car les réseaux électriques sont dangereusement sollicités par temps caniculaires, la consommation d’électricité résidentielle et commerciale atteignant des sommets.

Il existe différentes techniques de refroidissement par absorption solaire de par le monde. Mais en 2016, une équipe du Centennial College de Toronto a décidé de relever le défi de bâtir son propre système. Cette équipe réunissait Mihail Plesca, qui détient un doctorat en génie mécanique avec spécialisation en énergie solaire, le directeur du programme d’innovation du collège Hassan Haji-Esmaeili, ainsi que deux étudiants chercheurs, Eromosele Basil Ahunun et Harsh Pandya.

Après avoir lancé une simulation logicielle modélisant le système de refroidissement par absorption solaire que ses membres avaient mis au point, l’équipe a déterminé que la température optimale pour le refroidisseur par absorption à base de chlorure de lithium se situait entre 90° et 100° degrés Celsius.

Au mois d’août 2016, l’équipe présentait les résultats de son système de refroidissement par absorption solaire au colloque sur l’énergie propre International Conference & Exhibition on Clean Energy tenu à l’Université McGill. Les résultats furent favorablement reçus par la communauté.

L’équipe continue de collecter des données sur le rendement du prototype de refroidissement et compare la précision des données prédites par simulation, présentées à l’occasion du colloque, aux données réelles observées. Une étroite correspondance entre la théorie et la pratique permettra d’installer le système en d’autres lieux.

Funding: Les Subventions de renforcement de l’innovation (RI), CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Emerging Technologies for a Carbo-constrained Environment
Partners: Renteknik Group

About Centennial College
Established in 1966, Centennial College is Ontario’s first public college primarily serving the eastern portion of the Greater Toronto Area through four campuses. It has a record of exemplary teaching, innovative programming and extensive partnership building. It is recognized as one of the most culturally diverse post-secondary institutions in Canada. … Lire plus

Take heat, be cool
Sub Menu

Main Content

Take heat, be cool

Centennial College, Ontario

Take heat, be cool. Sounds like a line from a jazz standard, but it’s also a description of solar absorption cooling — a method of air conditioning that uses the power of the sun, rather than electricity, to operate.

Heating buildings through the power of the sun is nothing new, but solar-powered air conditioning seems like a contradiction in terms. In fact, it is merely harnessing the sun’s power another way: it uses water, heated by the sun, to drive the chillers in air conditioners. Not using electricity gives solar absorption cooling a huge advantage, because the electrical grid can get dangerously overloaded during heat waves as commercial and residential energy consumption soars.

Different approaches to solar absorption cooling are in use around the world, but in 2016 a team from Toronto’s Centennial College took on the challenge of building their own system. Team members were Mihail Plesca, who holds a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering (and specializes in solar energy), Centennial’s innovation program manager for energy, Hassan Haji-Esmaeili, and two student researchers, Eromosele Basil Ahunun and Harsh Pandya.

The team ran a software simulation based on the solar absorption cooling system they had designed, and found the optimal temperature for their single effect lithium chloride absorption chiller to operate at was 90° to 100° degrees Celsius.

In August 2016 the team presented their findings on their integrated solar absorption cooling system to the 2016 International Conference & Exhibition on Clean Energy at McGill University, where their results were well received.

The team continues to collect data on how well the prototype chiller performs and how accurately its components match with the simulation results the group presented in Montreal. A close match between theory and practice will make it possible to set the system up in other locations.

Funding: Innovation Enhancement (IE) Grant, NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program, Emerging Technologies for a Carbo-constrained Environment
Partners: Renteknik Group

About Centennial College
Established in 1966, Centennial College is Ontario’s first public college primarily serving the eastern portion of the Greater Toronto Area through four campuses. It has a record of exemplary teaching, innovative programming and extensive partnership building. It is recognized as one of the most culturally diverse post-secondary institutions in Canada. … Learn More