Des étudiants créent de nouveaux moyens de servir le homard
Sub Menu

Main Content

Des étudiants créent de nouveaux moyens de servir le homard

New Brunswick Community College, Nouveau-Brunswick

L’entreprise familiale de pêche au homard Longshore Fisheries emploie la plupart des résidents de Sonora en Nouvelle-Écosse, mais elle n’est qu’une des 400 entreprises de transformation des produits de la mer qu’abritent les Maritimes. Jouissant d’une croissance constante et graduelle, elle a pris de l’expansion au gré du temps et s’est dotée de nouveaux équipements et de nouveaux produits et services.

« L’industrie du homard est très concurrentielle, affirme Krysta Hanley, dont la famille a lancé l’entreprise dans une ancienne usine de moules. Nous avons rapidement réalisé qu’il nous fallait quelque chose que personne d’autre n’avait. » L’entreprise familiale a réalisé qu’elle avait besoin d’aide pour innover. Elle s’est donc tournée vers le bureau de la recherche et de l’innovation appliquées du New Brunswick Community College (NBCC) pour bénéficier de conseils techniques afin d’améliorer sa gamme de produits.

Le défi que cherchait à surmonter Longshore Fisheries est d’abord devenu un travail de recherche appliquée pour les étudiants en arts culinaires dans le cadre d’un cours de production alimentaire avancé. L’entreprise disposait de grandes quantités de sous-produits, qu’elle croyait pouvoir valoriser avec de l’aide à l’innovation. Les étudiants en arts culinaires ont exploré et testé des recettes à valeur ajoutée en vue de créer de nouveaux produits pour Longshore Fisheries à partir de son sous-produit. Le projet est ensuite passé chez les étudiants en marketing du programme d’administration des affaires afin de distinguer ces nouveaux produits de Longshore Fisheries.

Les étudiants en arts culinaires ont ainsi créé onze nouveaux produits pour Longshore Fisheries. Les étudiants en marketing ont ensuite élaboré et présenté des plans pour ces nouveaux produits alimentaires à valeur ajoutée créés par leurs collègues des arts culinaires. La société dispose maintenant de nouveaux produits concrets à offrir au marché ainsi que les plans pour les réaliser, tandis que les étudiants du CCNB ont pu développer leurs compétences grâce à l’apprentissage appliqué au sein de l’industrie.

Funding: PARI du CNRC
Partners: Longshore Fisheries

About New Brunswick Community College
With over 90 regular programs and six campuses across New Brunswick, New Brunswick Community College (NBCC) is a collaborative, learner-centred college - creatively contributing to social and economic prosperity through applied learning. NBCC offers students one- and two-year certificate and diploma programs. The College operates from six campuses located in … Lire plus

Students add flare to a foodie favorite
Sub Menu

Main Content

Students add flare to a foodie favorite

New Brunswick Community College, New Brunswick

Longshore Fisheries is a family-owned lobster fishery that employs most of the residents in Sonora, Nova Scotia — but it is just one of over 400 seafood processing companies in the Maritimes. The company experienced steady and gradual growth and over time expanded its building and added equipment, new products and services.

“The lobster industry is very competitive,” says Krysta Hanley, whose family set up the company in a shuttered clam plant. “We realized very quickly we need to have something that nobody else has.” The family-owned business realized it needed help to be innovative, so they approached the New Brunswick Community College’s applied research and innovation office looking for technical advice on how they could improve their product line.

Longshore Fisheries’ challenge first became an applied research assignment for culinary arts students doing an advanced food production course. As a lobster fishery, the company had plenty of lobster by-product and they believed that, with some innovative help, it could create value for the company. The culinary arts students investigated and tested value-added recipes to create new products for Longshore Fisheries using the lobster by-product. Then it was up to marketing students in business administration to develop marketing plans to set Longshore Fisheries’ new products apart.

The culinary arts students created eleven new products for Longshore Fisheries. The marketing students then developed and presented marketing plans based on the new value-added food products created by the culinary arts students. Now, the company has tangible new products they can bring to the marketplace and plans for how to do it, while the NBCC students have grown their skill sets through practical and applied learning with industry.

Funding: National Research Council - Industrial Research Assistant Program
Partners: Longshore Fisheries

About New Brunswick Community College
With over 90 regular programs and six campuses across New Brunswick, New Brunswick Community College (NBCC) is a collaborative, learner-centred college - creatively contributing to social and economic prosperity through applied learning. NBCC offers students one- and two-year certificate and diploma programs. The College operates from six campuses located in … Learn More