Partager connaissances et espoir: nouvelle approche des services sociaux
Sub Menu

Main Content

Partager connaissances et espoir: nouvelle approche des services sociaux

Durham College, Ontario

C’est un paradoxe du travail social que les services voués à aider les gens à se remettre sur pied et à vivre de manière autonome leur soient « livrés ». Leurs besoins sont évalués par d’autres, ce qui leur convient le mieux est déterminé par des politiques qui sont décidées loin de leur quotidien et de leur circonstances personnelles.

Un vent de changement s’immisce pourtant, grâce à une démarche d’innovation sociale qu’on appelle la coproduction, où le fournisseur de service devient plutôt un catalyseur et un facilitateur. Ce besoin en matière de services n’est pas déterminé par un fournisseur. Au contraire, des professionnels et les personnes desservies, ainsi que leurs familles, travaillent sur un même pied et en réciprocité afin de décider de ce qui convient le mieux. La coproduction reconnaît que les connaissances découlant de l’expérience personnelle sont aussi importantes que l’expertise professionnelle pour comprendre les besoins d’une personne ou de sa famille.

Cela n’est guère facile de passer d’un mode classique à la coproduction. Cependant, un changement aussi profond du modèle de service demande de la recherche et une planification attentive. Pour cette raison, le personnel des Services sociaux de Durham ainsi que le personnel facultaire et des étudiants en services sociaux de Durham College ont réalisé une revue de littérature et une analyse du milieu. Ils ont interviewé des leaders de la collectivité afin de réunir leurs impressions et leurs perspectives sur la coproduction et son utilisation dans les programmes sociaux.

Le rapport qui émane de cette collaboration expose comment ces derniers définissent la coproduction, son histoire et ses bénéfices. Il décrit également ses enjeux, les obstacles rencontrés lorsqu’elle est déjà utilisée.

Le rapport souligne que, si la mise en œuvre de la coproduction présente des défis professionnels, organisationnels et d’évaluation, les programmes sociaux livrent de meilleurs résultats et les services gagnent en efficience. Il relève en outre que les personnes se sentent encapacitées et parties prenantes lorsqu’elles participent au processus de livraison d’un service.

Quatre dirigeants dont les organisations ont adopté la coproduction ont aussi été interviewés. Ils conviennent qu’il n’existe pas une définition de la coproduction ni un modèle unique. Ils la décrivent comme un continuum de pratiques et un éventail d’activités partageant deux caractéristiques : elle reconnaît les connaissances, compétences et expertises des bénéficiaires des services et elle inclut les utilisateurs dans tous les aspects de la livraison des services.

La coproduction continue d’être utilisée dans plusieurs services publics et il faudra approfondir la recherche pour comprendre le modèle et les circonstances favorisant sa réussite. Les Services sociaux de la région de Durham constituent un site idéal pour un prochain projet pilote sur la coproduction.

Funding: Ontario Human Capital Research and Innovation Fund
Partners: Regional Municipality of Durham

About Durham College
At Durham College, the student experience comes first. With campuses in Oshawa and Whitby, Ont. along with a learning site in Pickering, the college offers more than 140 market-driven, full-time post-secondary programs in areas including culinary, hospitality, tourism, farming, horticulture, business, information technology, science, skilled trades, renewable energy, emergency services, … Lire plus

Sharing knowledge, sharing hope: a new approach to social service delivery
Sub Menu

Main Content

Sharing knowledge, sharing hope: a new approach to social service delivery

Durham College, Ontario

It’s a paradox of social work that services aimed at helping people get back on their feet and living independent lives have traditionally been “delivered” to them. Their needs are assessed by others, what’s best for them is determined by policies decided far from their day-to-day reality and individual circumstances.

However, that’s starting to change, with a new approach known as “co-production” a social innovation where the service provider becomes a catalyst and facilitator rather than the key provider of services. The need for services is not determined by a provider, rather, professionals, and the people and families being served work together in an equal and reciprocal manner to decide what’s best. Co-production recognizes knowledge gained from personal experience as equally as important as professional expertise in understanding what an individual or family requires.

It’s no small thing to shift from the traditional model to co-production; however, such a profound change in the delivery model requires careful research and planning. For that reason, the Region of Durham Social Services Department staff and Durham College’s faculty and students in the Social Service Worker program did a literature review and environmental scan, interviewing community leaders for insights and perspectives on how co-production has been used to facilitate the delivery of social programs.

Their report explored how co-production is defined, its history, and the benefits. It also reviewed challenges and barriers experienced where co-production is already in use.

The project found that while there are professional, organizational, and evaluation challenges to implementing co-production, outcomes improve for social programs, and services become more cost-effective. It also found individuals feel empowered and experience a greater sense of ownership when they are part of the service delivery process.

Four leaders whose organizations have adopted co-production were interviewed as well. They agreed there is neither a single definition of co-production nor a one-size-fits-all model. They described it as a continuum of practices and a range of activities that share key features, including recognizing the knowledge, skills and expertise of those who use services, and including service users in all aspects of service delivery.

As co-production continues to be applied to a range of public services, there will be a need for more research to understand the model and the circumstances that increase the likelihood of its success. The Region of Durham Social Services Department is an ideal site for a future pilot project focused on co-production.

Funding: Ontario Human Capital Research and Innovation Fund
Partners: Regional Municipality of Durham

About Durham College
At Durham College, the student experience comes first. With campuses in Oshawa and Whitby, Ont. along with a learning site in Pickering, the college offers more than 140 market-driven, full-time post-secondary programs in areas including culinary, hospitality, tourism, farming, horticulture, business, information technology, science, skilled trades, renewable energy, emergency services, … Learn More