Une recherche sur les lignes électriques éclaire et impressionne
Sub Menu

Main Content

Une recherche sur les lignes électriques éclaire et impressionne

SAIT, Alberta

Shannon Developments Corp. est appelée à évaluer les lignes électrique de par le monde. Depuis plus de 10 ans, ses évaluations ont aidé des services publics à remplacer les seules lignes électriques usées, plutôt que de procéder à des remplacements planifiés sans égard à l’état de ces lignes.

Récemment, le processus d’évaluation de Shannon a évolué vers une analyse numérique – et son propriétaire, Douglas Shannon, avait besoin d’échantillons de lignes détériorées de multiples façons. Il a ainsi pu créer des fichiers numériques pour un modèle analytique informatisé. Plutôt que d’utiliser de réelles lignes électriques corrodées pour sa recherche, M. Shannon avait besoin d’une méthode lui permettant de simuler le vieillissement de la conduction.

« C’est un enjeu de taille pour les services publics, en raison des coûts de remplacement des lignes, selon M. Shannon. En créant un système analytique à partir des modèles physiques, nous pourrons ainsi fournir à nos clients une évaluation détaillée et économique du vieillissement de leurs infrastructures électriques. »

Douglas Shannon s’est tourné vers le Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) pour entreprendre un projet de recherche appliquée. La conception, les tests et la fabrication ont été confiés au département de recherche et innovation appliquées de l’institut. Les chercheurs ont produit 15 échantillons de lignes électriques simulées affectées par différents types de corrosion.

« Maintenant que nous disposons d’échantillons physiques, nous voulons créer leurs modèles numériques. Ces fichiers numériques serviront ensuite dans un modèle analytique informatisé », a expliqué M. Shannon. « Travailler avec les services de recherche et innovation appliquées a été bénéfique en permettant de me focaliser sur le modèle informatique pendant que les chercheurs développaient les échantillons physiques, un travail appliqué qui est minutieux et très chronophage. »

Les étudiants du SAIT, qui ont pu collaborer avec les chercheurs, ont aussi bénéficié de cette recherche multiforme, tout comme les services publics, qui obtiendront rapidement de l’information précise et efficiente décrivant l’état de leurs lignes électriques et le degré de nécessité de les remplacer.

Funding: CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Subvention d’engagement partenarial
Partners: Shannon Developments Corp.

About SAIT
SAIT (Southern Alberta Institute of Technology) is a leader in action-based learning, delivering relevant, skill-oriented education. We offer two baccalaureate degrees, three applied degrees, 73 diploma and certificate programs, 37 apprenticeship trades and more than 1,000 continuing education and corporate training courses. We work closely with industry to ensure graduate success … Lire plus

Power line research shocks and impresses
Sub Menu

Main Content

Power line research shocks and impresses

SAIT, Alberta

Shannon Developments Corp. assesses power lines around the world. For more than 20 years its assessments have helped utilities to replace only the power lines that are wearing out, instead of going through scheduled replacement, which may mean lines that are still performing are taken down.

Recently, Shannon’s assessment process has evolved toward digitized analysis — and company owner Douglas Shannon needed samples of power lines that had deteriorated in different ways. With them, he could create digital files to be used in an analytical computer model. Rather than using actual corroded power lines for his research, Shannon needed a method to simulate aging on conductors.

“This is a very high-stakes game for utility providers because of the expense to replace the lines,” Shannon said. “Creating this analytical system from the physical models will allow us to provide our clients with a comprehensive and cost-effective assessment of their aging power line infrastructure.”

Shannon approached the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) to undertake an applied research project with design, testing and fabrication researchers in the institute’s Applied Research and Innovation Services (ARIS) department. The researchers created 15 samples of simulated power lines affected by different types of corrosion.

“Now that we have the physical samples, we’re looking to create the digital models that reflect them. These digital files will then be used in an analytical computer model,” Shannon explained. “What has been advantageous for me about working with [the Applied Research and Innovation Services department] is that it allowed me to focus on the computer model while researchers developed the physical samples, very hands-on work that required a lot of time and attention to detail.”

There were also advantages for SAIT students who got an opportunity to collaborate with SAIT researchers on the work, and for utility companies which will ultimately get efficient, fast and accurate information about the state of their power lines and whether they need to be replaced from this multi-faceted research.

Funding: NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program, Engage Grant
Partners: Shannon Developments Corp.

About SAIT
SAIT (Southern Alberta Institute of Technology) is a leader in action-based learning, delivering relevant, skill-oriented education. We offer two baccalaureate degrees, three applied degrees, 73 diploma and certificate programs, 37 apprenticeship trades and more than 1,000 continuing education and corporate training courses. We work closely with industry to ensure graduate success … Learn More