Une aiguille dans une botte de foin en circuit imprimé
Sub Menu

Main Content

Une aiguille dans une botte de foin en circuit imprimé

Red River College, Manitoba

Red River College abrite le Centre d’accès à la technologie de fabrication en aérospatiale. Le Centre met à la disposition des organisations aérospatiales, y compris les fabricants, de l’équipement, des ressources et de l’expertise afin de les aider à résoudre des problèmes de conception et de fabrication de pièces évoluées qui sont essentielles à leur travail.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, le Centre a travaillé avec Parker Hannifin, fabricant de systèmes d’automatisation du contrôle du mouvement employés par le secteur et l’aérospatiale. La société utilise la technique de montage en surface pour assembler des circuits imprimés. Ses circuits étaient fréquemment défectueux, en raison de pièces manquantes ou mal placées détectées en stade final d’inspection qualité et de banc d’essai.

Parket Hannifin s’est tourné vers le Centre d’accès à la technologie pour de l’aide. Le problème a pu être résolu en faisant appel à l’expertise du collège en imagerie à haute vitesse, capable de rassembler des données en temps réel sur l’assemblage robotique, ce qui a permis aux experts d’analyser les causes racines des défectuosités.

Appliquée aux circuits imprimés, la technique de montage en surface sélectionne et installe des centaines de pièces en l’espace de quelques secondes. L’imagerie à haute vitesse capte et débite le processus, après quoi les données et l’imagerie ont pu être analysées. Le problème était causé par des pièces renversées et mal orientées en raison de chargeurs défectueux. Une fois le problème identifié, ces chargeurs ont été isolés, puis réparés ou remplacés.

Notre collaboration avec Red River College a été essentielle pour identifier la cause racine de notre problème de pièces, affirme Bob Dann, directeur des Services techniques de Parker Hannifin. Trouver puis corriger cette cause racine nous a permis d’améliorer considérablement la qualité et la productivité.

Partners: Parker Hannifin

About Red River College
Red River College (RRC) is Manitoba's largest institute of applied learning. The institution is renowned for providing accessible, innovative, applied learning and research in an advanced environment, creating skilled graduates to drive the Manitoba economy. With more than 100 career-related programs — plus hundreds of courses — available part-time via … Lire plus

Needle in a Circuit Board Haystack
Sub Menu

Main Content

Needle in a Circuit Board Haystack

Red River College, Manitoba

Red River College is home to the Technology Access Centre for Aerospace and Manufacturing. Through the Centre, aerospace and manufacturing organizations can get access to equipment, assets and expertise to tackle problems in designing and manufacturing the advanced parts essential for their work.

In this project, the Centre worked with Parker Hannifin, which manufactures motion-and-control automation systems used in industry and aerospace. The company uses surface-mount technology to assemble circuit boards, but many of its boards were defective, with missing or misaligned parts being found during final quality inspection and testing.

Parker Hannifin turned to the Technology Access Centre for help. In this case, the problem was revealed using the College’s expertise in high-speed imaging, which can gather real-time data on robotic assembly, and allow experts to analyze the root causes of the defects.

To create circuit boards through surface-mount technology, hundreds of parts are picked and placed in a matter of seconds. High-speed imaging captured and distilled that process, and when the data and imagery were studied, the problem was shown to be parts being flipped and mis-oriented by faulty part feeders. Once this problem was identified, these feeders were isolated for repair or replacement.

“Collaboration with Red River College was instrumental in finding the true root cause of our ‘pick’ issue,” said Bob Dann, Technical Services Manager at Parker Hannifin. “Finding and correcting the root cause gave us a significant step improvement in quality and productivity.”

Partners: Parker Hannifin

About Red River College
Red River College (RRC) is Manitoba's largest institute of applied learning. The institution is renowned for providing accessible, innovative, applied learning and research in an advanced environment, creating skilled graduates to drive the Manitoba economy. With more than 100 career-related programs — plus hundreds of courses — available part-time via … Learn More