Les sports de contacts plus sécuritaires grâce à un père ingénieux
Sub Menu

Main Content

Les sports de contacts plus sécuritaires grâce à un père ingénieux

Red Deer College, Alberta

Après avoir joué 10 ans avec les Stampeders de Calgary au sein de la Ligue canadienne de football, Jeff Pilon connaît bien les sports de contact. Lorsqu’il a vu les chocs qu’encaissaient son fils et ses coéquipiers dans l’équipe de crosse de son quartier, il s’est dit qu’il devait faire quelque chose.

Les enfants qui jouent à la crosse risquent des blessures cervicales, car ils n’ont pas encore développé la coordination nécessaire pour se parer de manière sécuritaire. Jeff a décidé de fabriquer un protège-cou capable de protéger les jeunes joueurs, afin qu’ils puissent participer plus prudemment à ce sport de contact qui connaît un engouement.

Armé d’un modèle fabriqué maison, Jeff a démarché auprès du centre d’innovation et de fabrication de Red Deer College afin d’identifier les faiblesses de son protège-cou et de créer un design qui les surmonte. Quelques versions plus tard, Jeff avait en main, prêt à tester sur le terrain, un prototype de démonstration de concept, qu’il a nommé Shell Shock.

« La crosse est un sport d’été prisé au Canada, dit Jeff. Je veux que les enfants puissent y jouer et être actifs physiquement, sans que leurs parents aient à se soucier de blessures graves. Shell Shock aidera réellement à développer le sport. »

Depuis qu’il a conçu le protège-cou Shell Shock, Jeff a lancé sa propre entreprise, Jukebox, et s’est allié en partenariat avec Philippe Jeanneau, designer chevronné d’équipement de sport afin de développer une gamme complète d’équipement de crosse, y compris gants et bâtons. Tous les sports de contact présentent des risques de blessures spécifiques et les joueurs ont des besoins très précis – des gants de hockey ne sont pas adaptés à la crosse, par exemple. Jeff souhaite offrir une protection spécifique à la crosse afin de permettre à ce sport de se développer.

Funding: Conseil national de recherches du Canada, Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI)
Partners: Jukebox

About Red Deer College
For over 50 years, Red Deer College (RDC) has been proudly serving Central Alberta learners and communities. RDC offers more than 100 different programs (including full degrees, certificates, diplomas and skilled trades programs) to 7,500 full- and part-time credit students and more than 30,000 youth and adult learners in the … Lire plus

Making Canada’s Summer sport safer for kids
Sub Menu

Main Content

Making Canada’s Summer sport safer for kids

Red Deer College, Alberta

After 10 years playing for the Calgary Stampeders in the Canadian Football League, Jeff Pilon knows about contact sports. So, when he witnessed some of the hits being taken by his son and his teammates on the community lacrosse team, he felt he had to do something.

Kids playing lacrosse are at risk of neck injury because most have not developed the coordination to cross check safely. Jeff decided to make a neck guard that would protect young players and allow them to participate more safely in this fast-growing contact sport.

Armed with a home-made model, Jeff approached Red Deer College’s Centre for Innovation in Manufacturing to identify problems and create design solutions for his neck guard. A couple of designs later, Jeff had a working proof-of-concept prototype, named Shell Shock, ready for field testing.

“Lacrosse is Canada’s summer sport,” Jeff says. “I want kids to be able to play it, be physically active, and their parents not worry about serious injury. Shell Shock will really help to build the sport.”

Since designing Shell Shock, Jeff has opened his own company, Jukebox and partnered with Philippe Jeanneau, an experienced sports equipment designer, to develop a full line of equipment for lacrosse, including gloves and shafts. Every contact sport has potential areas of risk for injury and players’ needs are very specific — hockey gloves will not work in lacrosse, for example. Jeff wants to provide sport-specific protection so lacrosse can continue to grow.

Funding: National Research Council Canada, Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP)
Partners: Jukebox

About Red Deer College
For over 50 years, Red Deer College (RDC) has been proudly serving Central Alberta learners and communities. RDC offers more than 100 different programs (including full degrees, certificates, diplomas and skilled trades programs) to 7,500 full- and part-time credit students and more than 30,000 youth and adult learners in the … Learn More