Travail appliqué sur des dispositifs de contrôle à distance
Sub Menu

Main Content

Travail appliqué sur des dispositifs de contrôle à distance

Centennial College, Ontario

La technologie hors réseau électrique peut présenter certains enjeux lorsqu’elle est également hors d’accès. Depuis plus de vingt ans, la société torontoise Clear Blue Technologies inc. relie des sources d’énergie verte à l’aide de l’équipement matériel et informatique requis pour les réguler et les gérer.

Elle a travaillé avec des étudiants et enseignants du Centennial College à plusieurs reprises au fil des ans, et plus récemment sur une nouvelle pièce de technologie, le régulateur de charge Macaw, qui communique de l’information vitale sur les composants hors réseau électrique (dont l’équipement solaire et éolien) aux opérateurs à distance. Le régulateur Macaw fournit aux utilisateurs un éventail d’informations, depuis les problèmes de fonctionnement jusqu’aux données sur la quantité d’énergie qu’économise le dispositif. Le Centennial College a joué un rôle central dans tous les aspects de la production et de la mise au point du dispositif.

Tout au long du projet, il a conduit des tests d’humidité et de température ambiante sur l’équipement, à bâti le châssis mécanique des génératrices et installé une éolienne UGE sur le campus ainsi que des régulateurs et des senseurs de contrôle.

Les étudiants ont peaufiné les panneaux solaires du campus à l’aide d’algorithmes Macaw et dessiné le boîtier protecteur de ses panneaux de commande en tenant compte de la corrosion, des rayons UV, de l’humidité et d’autres variables. Ils ont ensuite bâti un prototype et testé ses capacités de communication.

L’étudiante stagiaire Anna Serbina a participé au premier essai de Macaw. Ses responsabilités se sont accrues, tout comme ses défis, mais, dit-elle, « le travail d’équipe a été utile lorsqu’il a fallu poser des questions ». Anna décrit son expérience comme étant « extrêmement pratique ». Elle fait partie des trois étudiants stagiaires qu’a embauchés Clear Blue à la fin de leur entente de travail-études.

Le projet a aussi eu des retombées sur le cursus du collège, selon Frank Levstek, directeur du programme d’innovation au sein des services de recherche appliquée, d’innovation et d’entrepreneuriat du Centennial College. Les enseignants se servent dorénavant des régulateurs Macaw dans les laboratoires comme support d’enseignement.

Funding: CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Emerging Technologies for a Carbo-constrained Environment
Partners: Clear Blue Technologies

About Centennial College
Established in 1966, Centennial College is Ontario’s first public college primarily serving the eastern portion of the Greater Toronto Area through four campuses. It has a record of exemplary teaching, innovative programming and extensive partnership building. It is recognized as one of the most culturally diverse post-secondary institutions in Canada. … Lire plus

Hands-on work on remote control
Sub Menu

Main Content

Hands-on work on remote control

Centennial College, Ontario

Off-the-grid technology can present a problem for operators when it’s also out-of-reach. Toronto’s Clear Blue Technologies Inc. has more than two decades of experience in linking environmentally friendly green energy with the hardware and software necessary to monitor and manage it.

The company has worked with Centennial students and faculty several times over the years, most recently on a new piece of technology, the Macaw charge controller, which communicates vital information on off-grid hardware (including solar and wind-driven equipment) to remote operators. Macaw can provide users with a range of information, from functional problems to data on the amount of energy the green device is saving. Centennial College was instrumental in all facets of the device’s production and development.

Over the course of the project, Centennial did humidity and ambient temperature tests on the equipment, built the mechanical housing for motor generator sets, and installed a UGE wind turbine on campus, adding controllers and sensory equipment for monitoring.

Students fine-tuned campus solar panels by using Macaw algorithms, and designed the protective enclosure for its controller boards, factoring in corrosion, UV, humidity and other variables. Afterward, they built a prototype and tested its ability to communicate.

Co-op student Anna Serbina was involved in the first testing on Macaw. She found that her responsibilities increased along with the challenges did, but says “the teamwork environment was helpful when it came to asking questions.” Anna describes her experience as “extremely hands on.” She is one of three co-op students hired by Clear Blue after their work terms.

The project has also had an impact on Centennial’s curriculum, according to Frank Levstek, innovation program manager for Centennial’s Applied Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship Services. College faculty, he says, are using Macaw controllers in labs as a teaching aid.

Funding: NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program, Emerging Technologies for a Carbo-constrained Environment
Partners: Clear Blue Technologies

About Centennial College
Established in 1966, Centennial College is Ontario’s first public college primarily serving the eastern portion of the Greater Toronto Area through four campuses. It has a record of exemplary teaching, innovative programming and extensive partnership building. It is recognized as one of the most culturally diverse post-secondary institutions in Canada. … Learn More