Donner aux jeunes parents une longueur d’avance
Sub Menu

Main Content

Donner aux jeunes parents une longueur d’avance

Durham College, Ontario

La vie des jeunes parents est parsemée de défis. Pour les aider à assurer, le programme Expérience, poursuite et reprise des études pour les jeunes parents (EXPRESS), offert par Ontario au travail, offre un soutien aux jeunes de 16 à 25 ans qui ont déjà des enfants. Il vise à leur permettre de compléter leurs études secondaires, à s’épanouir dans un emploi durable et à développer leur indépendance et leur autonomie.

Pourtant, quelque 60 pour cent des jeunes adultes de ce programme qui terminent leurs études secondaires chaque année ne prévoient pas s’inscrire au niveau postsecondaire. Ce choix risque de restreindre leurs possibilités d’emploi pour le reste de leurs jours. Durham College s’est allié à la division de la formation continue de la commission scolaire de Durham (Durham District School Board) ainsi qu’à un service municipal (Regional Municipality of Durham Social Services) afin d’élaborer et de piloter une intervention visant à mieux comprendre comment les participants du programme EXPRESS perçoivent l’éducation postsecondaire.

Dix-huit jeunes parents se sont inscrits à l’enquête, qui a commencé avant et s’est terminée après le programme d’intervention sur les perceptions vis-à-vis de l’éducation postsecondaire. Deux étudiants de Durham College ont été embauchés comme assistants de recherche.

L’intervention comptait des visites de campus, des ateliers, des activités en salle de classe et divers soutiens et services multidisciplinaires. Chaque participant a eu l’occasion de travailler avec l’appui d’un coach pour établir un plan de transition vers l’éducation postsecondaire.

« J’ai eu plusieurs fois le privilège de collaborer avec des collègues du service de recherche, d’innovation et d’entrepreneuriat du collège Durham, et aussi avec son école de santé et de services à la collectivité. Chaque fois, la collaboration vise à améliorer l’apprentissage des étudiants, les services à la collectivité et l’innovation sociale dans la région », affirme M. Darren Levine, directeur de l’unité d’innovation et de recherche des Services sociaux de la municipalité de Durham.

La recherche révèle qu’après chaque programme d’intervention, les jeunes parents étaient moins inquiets quant aux programmes postsecondaires et avaient plus confiance en leurs possibilités académiques et leurs perspectives d’emploi, mais aussi en leur admissibilité à un programme et en leur capacité de réussir. Un plus grand nombre de jeunes parents du programme ont dit qu’ils entameraient des études postsecondaires après le programme.

En conséquence de cette recherche, un programme permanent a été mis en œuvre. Les jeunes parents ayant participé au programme EXPRESS de Durham ont maintenant accès à un programme double leur permettant de compléter leur diplôme d’études secondaires tout en opérant leur transition vers les études collégiales.

Funding: Ontario Human Capital Research and Innovation Fund
Partners: Regional Municipality of Durham, Durham District School

About Durham College
At Durham College, the student experience comes first. With campuses in Oshawa and Whitby, Ont. along with a learning site in Pickering, the college offers more than 140 market-driven, full-time post-secondary programs in areas including culinary, hospitality, tourism, farming, horticulture, business, information technology, science, skilled trades, renewable energy, emergency services, … Lire plus

Giving young parents a chance to LEAP ahead
Sub Menu

Main Content

Giving young parents a chance to LEAP ahead

Durham College, Ontario

Life can be full of challenges for young parents. To help them manage, Ontario Works’ Learning, Earning, and Parenting (LEAP) program provides support to people between the ages of 16 and 25 who already have children by helping them finish high school, achieve sustainable employment and become independent and self-reliant.

However, some 60 percent of the young adults in the LEAP program who graduate from high school each year don’t plan to continue their education at a post-secondary institution, a choice that can affect their employment options for the rest of their lives. Durham College worked together with the continuing education division of Durham District School Board and The Regional Municipality of Durham Social Services Department on an intervention developed and piloted to gain insight into the LEAP participants’ perception of post-secondary education.

Eighteen young parents registered in the study and were surveyed before and after the intervention program on their perceptions of post-secondary education. Two Durham College students were hired as research assistants.

The intervention program took the participants on campus tours and offered workshops and in-class activities as well as a range of multi-disciplinary supports and services. Each participant had the opportunity to work with a supportive coach to develop a transition plan for entering post-secondary education.

“I have had the privilege to work in collaboration with colleagues from Durham College’s Office of Research Services, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship and School of Health and Community Services several times,” said Dr. Darren Levine, manager of the Innovation and Research Unit in the Regional Municipality of Durham’s Social Services Department. “Each collaboration has focused on enhancing students’ learning, while strengthening community services and driving local social innovation.”

The research showed that after the intervention program, the young parents had fewer concerns about post-secondary programs, increased certainty about academic and employment outcomes, and greater confidence in their ability to enter and succeed in a post-secondary program. More of the young parents in the program said they might pursue post-secondary education after they had been through the program.

As a result of the research, a permanent program was introduced. Young parents who are clients of the Durham’s LEAP program now have access to a dual-credit program while they’re completing the Ontario Secondary School Diploma requirements to help ease the transition from high school to college.

Funding: Ontario Human Capital Research and Innovation Fund
Partners: Regional Municipality of Durham, Durham District School

About Durham College
At Durham College, the student experience comes first. With campuses in Oshawa and Whitby, Ont. along with a learning site in Pickering, the college offers more than 140 market-driven, full-time post-secondary programs in areas including culinary, hospitality, tourism, farming, horticulture, business, information technology, science, skilled trades, renewable energy, emergency services, … Learn More