Déverser moins d’eaux usées
Sub Menu

Main Content

Déverser moins d’eaux usées

Fleming College, Ontario

Blue Planet Environmental est une firme de l’Ontario qui a développé un système de traitement des eaux usées pour utilisation résidentielle et commerciale. La compagnie s’est tournée vers le Centre for Alternative Wastewater Treatment qu’abrite le Fleming College afin de trouver des moyens d’améliorer son nouveau système, de sorte que sa performance réponde éventuellement aux normes de certification industrielle.

Le centre a lancé consécutivement deux projets de recherche appliquée pour optimiser et repenser le système. Le premier évaluait deux variations du système – tournant en parallèle – afin de déterminer lequel élimine l’azote le plus efficacement. Le second, prenant appui sur les résultats du premier, modifiait le système afin de jumeler un procédé à filtre pelliculaire fixe et une fosse septique classique. Puis, à la suite du second projet, le système Blue Planet a été perfectionné encore davantage.

Quatre étudiants ont agi comme assistants lors des projets, qui avaient un lien direct avec leur programme d’études. Ils ont ainsi acquis des compétences en collecte de données, en analyse en laboratoire et en santé et sécurité dans un laboratoire.

Les systèmes comme celui de Blue Planet permettent aux résidences et aux entreprises situées dans les zones sans système d’égouts de traiter leurs eaux usées de manière efficace et efficiente, conservant l’eau et protégeant l’environnement.

Grâce à ces deux projets de recherche appliquée menés à Fleming College, les capacités du système de traitement des eaux usées évolué ont été grandement améliorées. Blue Planet a approfondi sa compréhension du fonctionnement de sa technologie et possède des données pour appuyer cette connaissance. Grâce à la contribution du Centre for Alternative Wastewater Treatment de Fleming College ,Blue Planet peut parler en toute confiance des capacités de sa technologie. Elle est ainsi mieux positionnée pour compléter le développement et la validation du système.

Funding: CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Subvention d’engagement partenarial, Engage Plus Grant
Partners: Blue Planet Environmental

About Fleming College
Located in the heart of Central Ontario, Fleming College has campus locations in Peterborough, Lindsay, Cobourg and Haliburton. Named for famous Canadian inventor and engineer Sir Sandford Fleming, the college features more than 100 full-time programs in Arts and Heritage, Business, Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences, General Arts and Science, … Lire plus

Feeling better about what goes down the drain
Sub Menu

Main Content

Feeling better about what goes down the drain

Fleming College, Ontario

Blue Planet Environmental is an Ontario-based company that has developed an advanced wastewater treatment for both residential and commercial use. The company approached the Centre for Alternative Wastewater Treatment at Fleming College to find ways to improve its new system, so its performance would eventually meet industry certification standards.

The centre launched two consecutive applied research projects to optimize and redesign the system. The first assessed two variations of the system – run in parallel – to determine which removed nitrogen more effectively. The second project, building on the results of the first, modified the system to combine a fixed film filter process with a conventional septic tank. As a result of the second project, the Blue Planet system was further refined.

Four students assisted with the projects, which were directly related to their programs of study. They gained skills in sample collection, lab analysis and laboratory health and safety.
Systems like Blue Planet’s allow houses and businesses in areas without sewer systems to treat their wastewater efficiently and effectively, preserving water and protecting the environment.

Because of the two applied research projects at Fleming College, the advanced wastewater treatment system’s capabilities have been greatly improved. Blue Planet has deeper knowledge of how its technology works and data to back up that understanding. Thanks to the system provided by Fleming’s Centre for Alternative Wastewater Treatment, Blue Planet can speak with confidence of its technology’s capabilities and is in a better position to complete development and validation of the system.

Funding: NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program, Engage Grant, Engage Plus Grant
Partners: Blue Planet Environmental

About Fleming College
Located in the heart of Central Ontario, Fleming College has campus locations in Peterborough, Lindsay, Cobourg and Haliburton. Named for famous Canadian inventor and engineer Sir Sandford Fleming, the college features more than 100 full-time programs in Arts and Heritage, Business, Environmental and Natural Resource Sciences, General Arts and Science, … Learn More