Explorer la réalité virtuelle en et hors classe
Sub Menu

Main Content

Explorer la réalité virtuelle en et hors classe

Mohawk College, Ontario

La technologie virtuelle offre le potentiel d’améliorer l’expérience d’apprentissage des étudiants d’une multitude de façons. L’équipe de recherche de Mohawk College cherchait d’excellents moyens de tirer parti de la réalité virtuelle et de la technologie des caméras à 360° pour aider ses étudiants en médias de divertissement et de communication à créer des contenus visuels et à approfondir leurs connaissances des autres domaines d’application.

À cette fin, l’équipe de recherche a expérimenté avec ces technologies visuelles pour produire des environnements tridimensionnels générés par ordinateur utilisant la réalité virtuelle. Elle a aussi exploré la technologie des caméras à 360° pour apprendre au sujet de l’exploitation de ces techniques au bénéfice d’un apprentissage bonifié. L’équipe a aussi passé en revue les logiciels de traitement d’image pour caméras 360 et réalité virtuelle.

Ce projet a fourni l’occasion d’essayer des instruments à la toute fine pointe, de nouer de nouveaux partenariats avec l’industrie de la vidéo à 360° et de la réalité virtuelle. Il a aussi permis aux étudiants de pousser au-delà de la classique création de contenu pour offrir aux clients de nouveaux modes de narration et de présentation. Les secteurs intéressés par le potentiel de la réalité virtuelle et par ce qu’apprennent les étudiants de Mohawk College comprennent les sciences de la santé, la musique, l’aménagement résidentiel, l’immobilier et le jeu informatique – autant de sources d’emplois et de stages pour ces derniers.

Trois étudiants ont été affectés à ce projet à raison de deux ou trois heures par semaine sur 21 semaines. Ils ont expérimenté avec la technologie, résolu problèmes et bogues et recherché de nouvelles technologies et applications.

Cette recherche a aussi permis de mieux orienter les achats. Alors que les membres de l’équipe de recherche s’intéressaient d’abord aux caméras haut-de-gamme, ils ont décidé que les produits moins spécialisés étaient à même de répondre aux mêmes besoins d’apprentissage fondamental.

La recherche a été la plus enrichissante en mettant en relation les utilisateurs de la technologie et les personnes qui travaillent dans les médias de divertissement et de communication, qui ont aidé à explorer davantage les utilités de la technologie 360 et virtuelle. L’équipe a appris à leurs côtés tandis que les partenaires ont réalisé que les programmes de médias de divertissement et de communication qu’abrite Mohawk College adoptent ces innovations pour leurs étudiants.

Funding: Fonds Applied Research and Innovation in Education (ARIE) de Mohawk College

About Mohawk College
Mohawk College educates and serves 30,000 full-time, part-time and apprenticeship students at three campuses in Hamilton, Ontario. More than 1,200 international students from over 70 countries also attend Mohawk. Recognized as a leader in health and technology education, Mohawk is also one of the largest trainers of apprentices in Ontario. … Lire plus

Exploring virtual reality in and out of the classroom
Sub Menu

Main Content

Exploring virtual reality in and out of the classroom

Mohawk College, Ontario

Today’s virtual reality technology has the potential to enhance the student learning experience in a multitude of ways. The Mohawk College research team wanted to find some of the best ways virtual reality and 360-degree camera technology could help media and entertainment students to create visual content, and to learn about other areas where the technology could be applied.

To do that, the research team experimented with using new visual technologies to produce three-dimensional, computer-generated environments through virtual reality and explored 360-degree camera technology to learn about techniques for enhancing learning. The team also reviewed editing software for 360 cameras and virtual reality.

The project provided an opportunity to try cutting-edge tools, to connect and generate new partnerships in the 360 /VR industry and also let students extend beyond traditional content creation to offer innovative storytelling and presentation opportunities to clients. Sectors interested in the potential of virtual reality and what Mohawk College students are learning include the health sciences, music, home design, real estate and gaming — which may open up the potential of field placements and internships for students.

Three students were assigned to work on the project for two to three hours a week for 21 weeks, experimenting with the technology, troubleshooting and researching new technologies and applications.

The research also provided a better understanding of what to buy — although members of the research team started by looking at high-end camera equipment, they decided consumer products, capable of providing the same learning fundamentals, would be the best route to follow.

Possibly the greatest benefit from the research came from connecting with people already using the technology and with people who work in media and entertainment, who helped further explore the uses of 360 and virtual technology — the team learned from them, and partners became aware that Mohawk College’s media and entertainment programs are adopting and immersing students in the latest innovations.

Funding: Mohawk College Applied Research and Innovation in Education Fund (ARIE)

About Mohawk College
Mohawk College educates and serves 30,000 full-time, part-time and apprenticeship students at three campuses in Hamilton, Ontario. More than 1,200 international students from over 70 countries also attend Mohawk. Recognized as a leader in health and technology education, Mohawk is also one of the largest trainers of apprentices in Ontario. … Learn More