Évaluer l’impact de la police de proximité
Sub Menu

Main Content

Évaluer l’impact de la police de proximité

Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Ontario

Il arrive souvent, de nos jours, que les relations entre le public et son corps policier soient tendues, ce qui a mis la quête de moyens pour dissiper ces tensions et bâtir la confiance au premier plan de plusieurs collectivités au Canada. Lorsqu’un effort a été déployé, il est cependant important de vérifier s’il livre ses fruits.

C’est la raison pour laquelle Humber College et le Service de la police de Toronto collaborent à évaluer le programme Neighbourhood Policing lancé en mai 2013. Celui-ci vise à réduire le crime et à rehausser la sécurité et la confiance en la police. Grâce à lui, des équipes spéciales d’agents de la police de Toronto ont été affectées à certains quartiers difficiles de la ville. Plus que de simples patrouilles de surveillance, elles sont allées au-devant des gens, les rencontrant et discutant avec eux au sujet des problèmes que vivent ces communautés, et essayant, lorsque possible, d’agir de manière préventive.

Les premiers résultats indiquent que cette police de proximité dans les quartiers induit des changements positifs. Les résultats complets sont attendus en 2018. L’évaluation d’impact prendra encore un certain temps, mais cette collaboration entre agents de police et collège fournit des possibilités de formation pour les étudiants. L’équipe de recherche, associée à l’école de services sociaux et communautaires, mène des enquêtes et des groupes de discussion auprès d’adultes et de jeunes dans ces quartiers sillonnés par les équipes de police de proximité. Les étudiants de plusieurs programmes acquièrent ainsi une expérience profitable de modération de groupes de discussion, d’enquêtes et d’analyse de données.

Le projet servira également à produire un éventail d’instruments destinés aux services policiers désireux de connaître les stratégies d’engagement public efficaces. Il pourrait aussi renforcer la relation entre la police de Toronto et le public en mettant en lumière les stratégies les plus bénéfiques en matière d’interaction entre le corps policier et le public.

Funding: Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Partners: Toronto Police Service

About Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning
Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning is one of Canada’s leading postsecondary institutions, combining deep theoretical learning with applied, hands-on experience. Humber offers a wide variety of credentials including bachelor’s degrees, diplomas, certificates, Ontario graduate certificates and apprenticeship programs. The college meets its vision of leadership in polytechnic … Lire plus

Evaluating Neighbourhood Policing
Sub Menu

Main Content

Evaluating Neighbourhood Policing

Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning, Ontario

Relations between the public and their police are often strained these days — which has made finding a way to defuse tension and build trust a high priority for communities across Canada. Once an effort has been made, however, it’s important to ask if what’s being done is working.

That’s why Humber College and the Toronto Police Service are collaborating on an evaluation of the Neighbourhood Policing Program introduced in May 2013. Its goals were to reduce crime and increase the public’s safety and its trust in police. Through the program, special teams of Toronto police officers were assigned to some of Toronto’s more troubled neighbourhoods. The teams weren’t just beefing up street patrols — they were out, meeting people and groups, talking about issues in the community, trying, where possible, to prevent crime.

Preliminary results suggest neighbourhood policing is making positive changes; completed results are expected in 2018. However, while the thorough evaluation of the impact of program will take some time yet, this policing-academic collaboration is providing training opportunities for students. The research team from the School of Social and Community Services is conducting surveys and focus groups with adults and youth in the communities with neighbourhood police teams. Students from several programs are gaining valuable experience in facilitating focus groups, doing surveys and analyzing data.

The project will also contribute to a tool kit for other police services that want to know what public-engagement strategies might be effective, and may strengthen the relationship between the Toronto police and the public by singling out the most effective strategies for good police and public interaction.

Funding: Community and College Social Innovation Fund, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council
Partners: Toronto Police Service

About Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning
Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning is one of Canada’s leading postsecondary institutions, combining deep theoretical learning with applied, hands-on experience. Humber offers a wide variety of credentials including bachelor’s degrees, diplomas, certificates, Ontario graduate certificates and apprenticeship programs. The college meets its vision of leadership in polytechnic … Learn More