Un mur pour préserver les souvenirs
Sub Menu

Main Content

Un mur pour préserver les souvenirs

Fanshawe College of Applied Arts and Technology, Ontario

Les séjours hospitaliers peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur les patients qui souffrent de pertes de mémoire. Désorientés par un environnement inconnu et loin de leurs activités habituelles, les patients âgés voient parfois leurs capacités mentales décroître en dépit de l’amélioration de leurs problèmes physiques.

Pour prévenir la détérioration des patients aux prises avec des troubles de la mémoire, l’Hôpital général de Woodstock est entré en partenariat avec Fanshawe College afin de concevoir et d’installer un « mur de la cognition » dans son unité de soins continus complexes. CogWall, c’est son nom, se divise en quatre sections, abritant chacune des objets familiers sur un fond photographique.

L’idée est que chaque section du fond photographique et les objets familiers à l’avant-plan stimuleront les souvenirs et encourageront les patients à faire des activités qui leur apportent une impression de réussite. La photo d’une cuisine des années 1950, par exemple, est complémentée par des articles de cuisine que les patients peuvent manipuler. Un téléphone à cadran rotatif sonne périodiquement et livre un message lorsqu’on y répond. Une boîte aux lettres permet d’y déposer des lettres. On y voit aussi une canne à pêche. Puis, devant une scène agricole, un volant de tracteur monté sur le mur simule une promenade dans un champ pour les patients.

CogWall a été conçu par des étudiants du programme de génie mécanique de Fanshawe. Ce sont aussi eux qui ont rassemblé tous les matériaux et installé le mur. Les étudiants devaient relever plusieurs défis et développer de précieuses compétences de recherche, notamment en gestion de projet, en approvisionnement, en résolution de problèmes et en capacité de raisonnement tout au long du projet, qui s’est étalé de mai à novembre 2016. Le mur a été inauguré le 31 janvier 2017.

Depuis son installation, l’hôpital encourage les patients dont la mémoire est affectée à interagir avec lui fréquemment, dans l’espoir d’améliorer leur fonction cognitive et de retarder la perte de mémoire. Selon l’Hôpital général de Woodstock, les patients et leur famille y réagissent positivement. CogWall a aussi attiré l’attention des médias locaux et reçu un bel accueil de la communauté.

Funding: CRSNG, Fonds général de recherche
Partners: Woodstock General Hospital

About Fanshawe College of Applied Arts and Technology
Fanshawe College is one of the largest colleges in Ontario, with campuses located in London, Simcoe, St. Thomas, and Woodstock. The institution offers more than 200 degree, diploma, certificate, post-graduate certificate and apprenticeship programs. Fanshawe prides itself on its excellent services for students with physical or learning needs, and on … Lire plus

Building a wall to keep memories in their place
Sub Menu

Main Content

Building a wall to keep memories in their place

Fanshawe College of Applied Arts and Technology, Ontario

Hospital stays are hard on people struggling with impaired memory. Disoriented by unfamiliar surroundings and stripped of their usual activities, elderly patients may see their mental abilities decline even as their physical problems are being treated.

To prevent deterioration in patients with memory problems, Woodstock General Hospital partnered with Fanshawe College to design and install a “cognition wall” in its complex continuing care unit. The CogWall, as it’s called, is divided into four sections, each featuring familiar objects against a background photo.

The idea is that in each section the background photo and the familiar items displayed in front of it will stir reminiscences and encourage activities that will give patients a sense of success. A photo of a 1950s kitchen, for example, is complemented with real kitchenware patients can handle. There’s a rotary-dial phone that rings periodically and when answered, plays a message. There’s a mailbox where letters can be dropped. There’s also a fishing pole and, in front of a farm scene, a tractor steering wheel and monitor mounted on the wall simulate a drive through a field for patients.

The CogWall at Woodstock General was designed by four students from Fanshawe’s Mechanical Engineering program. They also found all the material, built, and installed the wall. The students had to work through a variety of challenges and gained valuable research skills including project management, procurement, problem solving and critical thinking during the project, which ran from May to November of 2016. The CogWall was unveiled on January 31, 2017.

Since the wall was installed, the hospital has been encouraging patients with impaired memory to interact with it regularly, in hopes of improving their cognitive function and staving off memory loss. The hospital says both patients and their families are reacting positively. The CogWall has also garnered the attention of local media and has been well received by the community.

Funding: NSERC, General Research Fund
Partners: Woodstock General Hospital

About Fanshawe College of Applied Arts and Technology
Fanshawe College is one of the largest colleges in Ontario, with campuses located in London, Simcoe, St. Thomas, and Woodstock. The institution offers more than 200 degree, diploma, certificate, post-graduate certificate and apprenticeship programs. Fanshawe prides itself on its excellent services for students with physical or learning needs, and on … Learn More