Paver la voie au changement : mettre en contact enseignants et personnel de soutien avec la diversité estudiantine
Sub Menu

Main Content

Paver la voie au changement : mettre en contact enseignants et personnel de soutien avec la diversité estudiantine

British Columbia Institute of Technology, Colombie-Britannique

Les effectifs d’étudiants de niveau post-secondaire se diversifient de manière croissante. Au fil des ans, les collèges et les universités accueillent un nombre toujours plus grand d’étudiants de divers groupes culturels, ethniques et linguistiques (y compris les étudiants autochtones).

D’autres types de différences deviennent aussi plus communs, par exemple la diversité cognitive et neurologique des étudiants qui doivent composer avec l’autisme, les troubles d’Asperger ou TDA/H. Les établissements sont maintenant également plus sensibles à la diversité sexuelle, reconnaissant les différentes identités sexuelles et les groupes sous-représentés comme les femmes en ingénierie ou en informatique.

Ce projet repose sur la notion fondamentale d’accueil par les enseignants de la diversité et d’une diversification accrue de la population étudiante comme étant positive. Il tient compte en revanche directement des ressources et nouvelles connaissances que requiert l’appui à cette diversité des effectifs.

Ce projet vise donc à élaborer un modèle effectif qui aide les enseignants et employés de soutien postsecondaires à aborder la diversité d’une manière positive, sensible et stratégique. L’objectif est de tirer parti du pouvoir de l’expertise collective pour impulser des réponses à la diversité et outiller tous les participants de cette conversation.

Pour ce faire, le projet a fait appel à une démarche autochtone permettant un engagement organique à plusieurs niveaux au sein des collectivités et des institutions. Suivant cette démarche, l’équipe de projet a créé une série de panels, d’ateliers et d’outils pour aider les gens à interagir avec la diversité. Certains de ces ateliers ont porté, à ce jour, sur la culture du mentorat, la langue et la diversité et la diversité sexuelle.

À sa deuxième année et animé d’une petite équipe, le projet organise des ateliers personnalisés pour chaque département, centrés sur la résilience des étudiants, le travail d’équipe, le mentorat et la diversité. L’équipe conçoit également une cartographie numérique de la diversité à l’aide d’une ressource numérique ouverte associant le projet, des ressources et des personnes à d’autres projets de diversité, ressources et personnes. La cartographie, tout comme la démarche, implique un important volet de création de recherche, basée sur l’esthétique amérindienne inspirée des Salishes du littoral qu’a créée l’artiste et collaborateur Aaron « Splash » Nelson-Moody.

Les étudiants et des personnes hautement qualifiées ont pris part à chacun des stades du projet et intensifient leur participation cette année.

Funding: Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges, BCIT Faculty and Staff Association
Partners: BCIT Faculty and Staff Association

About British Columbia Institute of Technology
For over 50 years, the British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) has been a leader among Canadian post-secondary institutions. Offering an applied, hands-on education that models the evolving work environment, BCIT is one of British Columbia’s largest post-secondary institutes. BCIT educates more than 47,000 full-time and part-time students in over … Lire plus

Building a bridge to change: connecting post-secondary teachers and staff with student diversity
Sub Menu

Main Content

Building a bridge to change: connecting post-secondary teachers and staff with student diversity

British Columbia Institute of Technology, British Columbia

The population of post-secondary students is becoming increasingly diverse. Over time, colleges and universities have seen increasing numbers of students from diverse cultural, ethnic, and first-language groups (including Indigenous students).

But other types of differences are also becoming more common, like cognitive and neuro diversity in students with autism, Asperger’s and ADHD. Institutions are also more aware of gender diversity, both among different gender identities and also through recognition some gender groups are underrepresented, such as women in engineering and computing.

This project hinges on the fundamental notion that educators welcome diversity and embrace the increasing diversity of student population as positive — but at the same time, speaks directly to the reality that supporting an increasingly diverse student body requires more resources, awareness, and new knowledge.

The project sought to develop an effective model to help post-secondary teachers and academic staff engage with increasing diversity positively, sensitively, and strategically. The objective is to leverage the power of community-based expertise to drive responses to diversity, and empower all participants in the diversity conversation.

To do that, the project used an indigenous framework to allow organic engagement at many levels within communities and institutions. Based on that framework, the project team created a series of panels, workshops and tools to help people engage with diversity. Some of the workshops so far have been on the Culture of mentoring; Language and diversity; and Gender diversity.

The project is in its second year and the team is running small, customized workshops for individual departments, focused on student resiliency, teamwork, mentoring and diversity. The team is also designing a digital diversity map, which will be an open digital resource to link the project, resources, and people to other diversity projects, resources, and people. The map, like the project framework, involves a strong research creation aspect informed by a Coast Salish aesthetic, envisioned by artist and collaborator Aaron “Splash” Nelson-Moody.

Students and highly qualified people have been engaged at every stage of this project and are intensifying their involvement this year.

Funding: Community and College Social Innovation Fund, BCIT Faculty and Staff Association
Partners: BCIT Faculty and Staff Association

About British Columbia Institute of Technology
For over 50 years, the British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) has been a leader among Canadian post-secondary institutions. Offering an applied, hands-on education that models the evolving work environment, BCIT is one of British Columbia’s largest post-secondary institutes. BCIT educates more than 47,000 full-time and part-time students in over … Learn More