Un grand problème pour le petit port de Little Harbour
Sub Menu

Main Content

Un grand problème pour le petit port de Little Harbour

Nova Scotia Community College, Nouvelle-Écosse

Dans la pittoresque région de Little Harbour en Nouvelle Écosse, la vie et les loisirs des résidents sont inextricablement liés à l’eau. Plus de 650 résidences permanentes ou saisonnières, ainsi que six aires de cueillette de mollusques y longent les 31,5 kilomètres de berges.

Mais la beauté et la prospérité des lieux sont compromises par les niveaux de contamination de l’eau dans le port, en hausse depuis plusieurs années. Les coliformes fécaux, principal contaminant, sont des bactéries contenues dans les matières fécales et pouvant s’accumuler dans les tissus des mollusques. La présence de coliformes fécaux et des bactéries pathogènes qu’ils sont susceptibles de contenir a affecté les sites récréatifs et d’aquaculture aux environs de Little Harbour – deux des six zones d’élevage de coquillages sont restreintes et requièrent des procédés additionnels coûteux pour s’assurer que le produit est propre à la consommation.

On attribue à deux facteurs la dégradation des eaux de Little Harbour : plus de résidences qui dépendent de fosses septiques résidentielles se font bâtir dans la région et les schémas de précipitations changent. Cette combinaison a accru le nombre de contaminants rejetés dans l’eau.

Au mois d’août 2016, le groupe de recherche appliquée en géomatique (GRGA) du Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) a établi un partenariat avec AquaDelights Seafood inc. et l’Association aquacole de Nouvelle-Écosse afin d’analyser les sources et les schémas de circulation de la contamination bactérienne.

Ils ont commencé par modéliser les schémas de circulation des eaux. Les résultats indiquent que plusieurs particules bactériennes relâchées dans Little Harbour sont transportées à quelques mètres seulement de leur point d’origine. Ils ont en outre découvert que les marées basses déposaient de faibles concentrations de contaminants le long des berges et augmentaient le nombre moyen de coliformes fécaux.

Ils ont effectué une analyse spatiale et statistique de 25 années de données de qualité de l’eau et ont intégré des données de cartographie sous-marine et des photographies aériennes de Little Harbour.
Une fois cette étape complétée, l’information a été partagée avec la collectivité afin d’influencer les actions futures et d’encourager la réhabilitation des sources de contamination. La plupart des habitants de Little Harbour étaient au courant des conséquences environnementales des ruissellements des fosses sceptiques, mais plusieurs d’entre eux croyaient que la marée emportait les contaminants vers l’océan. Cette recherche leur a montré que ce n’était pas le cas. Elle a suscité l’intérêt pour la réhabilitation des sources de contamination et permis de comprendre que la détérioration de l’eau nuit à la santé environnementale et économique.

Depuis les conclusions de la recherche du NSCC en novembre 2016, la collectivité de Little Harbour a mis sur pied un groupe collectif de gestion des bassins afin de diriger les changements requis et d’améliorer la qualité de l’eau dans la région.

« Le projet de surveillance des eaux de Little Harbour est la première étape vers la compréhension et la communication qui sont nécessaires pour travailler avec les collectivités côtières à produire des recherches qui mèneront à un plus bel avenir », a affirmé Tom Smith, directeur exécutif de l’Association Aquacole de Nouvelle-Écosse.

Funding: CRSNG, Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, Subvention d’engagement partenarial
Partners: AquaDelights Seafood Inc., Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia

About Nova Scotia Community College
Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) is committed to building Nova Scotia's economy and quality of life through education and innovation. Serving the province through a network of 13 campuses, the College offers over 100 certificate and diploma programs in five academic schools, reflecting labour market needs and opportunities in Nova … Lire plus

A big problem for Little Harbour
Sub Menu

Main Content

A big problem for Little Harbour

Nova Scotia Community College, Nova Scotia

In picturesque Little Harbour, Nova Scotia, the livelihoods and pastimes of residents are inextricably linked to the water. More than 650 permanent and seasonal homes, along with six commercial shellfish harvesting areas, lie along Little Harbour’s 31.5 kilometres of shoreline.

But the beauty and prosperity of the area is being undermined by water contamination levels in the harbor, which have been on the rise for some years. The main contaminant is fecal coliform—the bacteria found in feces, and one that can accumulate in shellfish tissue. The presence of fecal coliform and the disease-causing pathogens it can contain has had an impact on both recreational and aquaculture sites around Little Harbour — two of Little Harbour’s six shellfish-growing areas are under restrictions that require costly additional steps to ensure the product is safe for consumption.

It’s believed two factors are to blame for the degradation of Little Harbour’s water — more houses that rely on residential septic fields are being built in the area, and precipitation patterns that are changing. The combination has increased the number of land-based contaminants being flushed into the water.

In August of 2016, Nova Scotia Community College’s Applied Geomatics Research Group partnered with AquaDelights Seafood Inc. and the Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia to investigate the sources and circulation patterns of the bacterial contamination.

They began by modelling water circulation patterns; results showed that many bacteria particles released into Little Harbour were transported only a few meters from their points of origin. They also discovered the changing tide left low concentrations of contaminates settling along the shorelines and increasing the mean fecal coliform count.

The work included a spatial and statistical analysis of 25 years of water quality data and gathered integrated underwater mapping data and aerial photographs of Little Harbour.

Once the work was completed, the information was shared with the community to influence future actions and encourage remediation of sources of contamination. Most Little Harbour residents were aware of the environmental impact of septic runoff in general, but many believed the tide cycle carried contaminants out to sea, and only learned that was not true from this project. As a result, this research stimulated interest in remediating sources of contamination, and increased local understanding that deteriorating water quality is a hindrance to both environmental and economic health.

Since the conclusion of NSCC’s research in November 2016, the community of Little Harbour has formed the Community Watershed Management Group to spearhead necessary changes and improve water quality in the area.

“The Little Harbour water monitoring project is an important first step in understanding and communicating the need to work with coastal communities to provide the research that will pave the way forward for a brighter future,” said Tom Smith, executive director of the Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia.

Funding: NSERC, College and Community Innovation Program, Engage Grant
Partners: AquaDelights Seafood Inc., Aquaculture Association of Nova Scotia

About Nova Scotia Community College
Nova Scotia Community College (NSCC) is committed to building Nova Scotia's economy and quality of life through education and innovation. Serving the province through a network of 13 campuses, the College offers over 100 certificate and diploma programs in five academic schools, reflecting labour market needs and opportunities in Nova … Learn More