Main Content

2020 National Continuing Education Symposium Program

Thursday, February 6, 2020

7:30 – 8:30 a.m.Registration and BreakfastCourtyard Foyer
8:30 – 8:45 a.m.Welcome and CICan UpdateEmcee: Julie Nadeau, Director, Workforce and Business Development, Collège Boréal

Denise Amyot, President and CEO – Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan)
Indigenous Welcome by an Elder

Courtyard Hall
8:45 – 9:45 a.m.Plenary Session #1 – Opening Keynote
Moderator: Linda Franklin, President & CEO, Colleges Ontario
Speaker: Pedro Barata, Executive Director, Future Skills Centre
Courtyard Hall
9:45 – 10:00 a.m.Networking BreakCourtyard Foyer
10:00 – 11:00 a.m.Concurrent Sessions – Series A – Trends in the Labour Market
Education Innovation 2020: Global Spotlight on Lifelong LearningElisabeth Rees-Johnstone, Executive Director, Continuing & Professional Learning Research, International & Innovation, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) Courtyard Hall
A Journey through policy: Connecting the dots in youth workforce development Panelists: Shalini Sharma, Lead Research and Policy Analyst, Canadian Council for Youth Prosperity
Lina Pulido, Policy Analyst, Canadian Council for Youth Prosperity
 Alexander A&B
11:00 – 11:15 a.m.Networking BreakCourtyard Foyer
11:15 – 12:15 p.m.Plenary Session#2 Panel – Business PerspectivesModerator: Dennis Darby, President & CEO, Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters
Stewart Cramer, Chief Manufacturing Officer of Next Generation Manufacturing Canada
Stephen Coot, President, Group92 & Executive Board Member of Canadian Construction Association
Dan Kelly, President & CEO of Canadian Federation of Independent Businesses
 Courtyard Hall
12:15 – 1:15 p.m.Networking Lunch and ShowcaseGuest Speaker: The Honourable Diane Bellemare, Senator, Senate of Canada Courtyard Hall
1:15 – 2:15 p.m.Plenary Session #3 Panel – Green SkillingModerator: Dr. Yogendra Chaudhry, Vice President, Professional Services, EP, CRSP, Eco Canada
Corey Diamond, Executive Director, Efficiency Canada
Thomas Mueller, President $ CEO, Chair Canada Green Building Council
Tony Cupido, Research Chair, Sustainability, Mohawk College
 Courtyard Hall
2:15 – 2:30 p.m.Networking BreakCourtyard Hall
2:30 – 3:30 p.m.Concurrent Sessions – Series B – Innovative Models and Approaches
A consortium of colleges working together to meet business training needsIsabelle Mailloux, director, Formation continue et cheminement scolaire, Collège Ahuntsic
Christian Plouznikof, director, Extra Formation et développement interrnational, Cégep de la Pocatière
 Courtyard Hall
Scoping the Future of Micro-credentials in Postsecondary educationJessica DeVries, Chair Academic Development, Algonquin College
Jay Smith, Project Manager, AC online, Algonquin College
 Alexander A&B
3:30 – 3:45 p.m.Networking BreakCourtyard Hall
3:45 – 4:45 p.m.Plenary Session #4 Panel – Diversity of Learners and PathwaysModerator: Anne Sado, President, George Brown College

Kelly J. Lendsay, President & CEO, Indigenous Works
Lisa Taylor, Founder & President, Challenge Factory
Michael Bach, Founder & CEO, Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion
 Courtyard Hall
4:45 – 5:00 p.m.Closing RemarksJulie Nadeau, Director, Workforce and Business Development, Collège BoréalCourtyard Hall
5:30 – 7:30 p.m.Cocktail Reception (Cash Bar)Porter Room

Friday, February 7, 2020

7:00 – 8:00 a.m.Breakfast Buffet
Courtyard Foyer
8:00 – 8:15 a.m.WelcomeEmcee: Julie Nadeau, Director, Workforce and Business Development, Collège Boréal
8:15 – 9:00 a.m.Plenary Session #5 KeynoteModerator: Denise Amyot, President and CEO – Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan)
Speaker: The Honourable Perrin Beatty, President & CEO, The Canadian Chamber of Commerce
 Courtyard Hall
9:00 – 10:00 a.m.Plenary Session #6 Roundtable Discussion – A Conversation with Industry Sectors
Interactive session in subgroups with leads of key industry sector
Moderator:  Jeff McCarthyDean, Faculty of Continuing Education, Seneca College
Roundtable Leads:
Mark Chapeskie, Director of Programs and Development, Electricity Human Resources Canada
Namir Anani, President and CEO, The Information and Communications Technology Council
Robert Donald, Executive Director, Canadian Council for Aviation & Aerospace
Jean Pierre Giroux, President, Excellence in Manufacturing Consortium
Yogendra Chaudhry, Vice President, Professional Services, Eco Canada
Jennefer Grifith, Executive Director, Food Processing Skills Canada
Neil Parmenter, President & CEO, Canadian Bankers Association
 Courtyard Hall
10:00 – 10:15 a.m.Networking BreakCourtyard Foyer
10:15 a.m. – 11:15 p.m.Concurrent Sessions – Series C – Institutional Readiness
Leveraging CE’s DNA to Help Colleges Address the Future of WorkAmrit Ahuluwalia, Managing Editor, The EvoLLLution
Audrey Penner, Vice-President, Academic & Student Success, Northern College
 Courtyard Hall
Responding to Employers from an Institutional PerspectiveSandy MacDonald, President & CEO, Holland College  Alexander A&B
11:15 – 11:30 p.m.Networking Break
11:30 – 12:15 p.m.Plenary Session #7 Panel – Skills for the Future: Federal Government PerspectivesPanelists:
Corinne Prince-Saint-Amand, Director General of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC)
Benoît Tessier, Director General, Skills & Economic Strategy Tables at Innovation of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED)
Annette Vermaeten, Director, Essential Skills, ESDC 
Rachel Wernick, Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Skills & Employment Branch, ESDC
 Courtyard Hall
12:15 – 12:30 p.m.Wrap-Up and Closing RemarksDenise Amyot, President and CEO – Colleges and Institutes Canada (CICan)